Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Merry Bookmas!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

I thought what the heck? I’ll give it a whirl. I do love me some lists!

This Top Ten Tuesday is the Top Ten Books to Give for Christmas.

Other than my mom I’ve never given anyone a book for Christmas. Mainly because for anyone other than me and my mom that would be a really crummy Christmas gift. I don’t come from one of those magical reading families. But, in a world where people DO take my reading suggestions here are the books I would love to give people this year for Christmas:

Percy Jackson and the Olympians – My little sister. She LOVES Greek Mythology and I literally have been nagging her to read this series ever since I discovered them. She’s not much of a reader – in fact I’m pretty sure she’s only read 2 books in her entire life. So while it may be a stretch getting her to read these, I think if she would read them she would love them just like I did.

The Sky is Everywhere – I would give this to my new aunt and her daughter. Several years ago they lost a daughter and sister. She was just fourteen when she died and, even though it’s been a long time since she passed away and they’ve grieved for her, I think they would both be able to relate to this book and maybe get a little something out of it since they’ve been through losing someone at such a young age. And I just love it so much.

Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married – This book is right up my friend Emily’s alley and I’ve recommended it to her many times. So many things she tells me about her life – whether it’s crazy mom stories or roommate horror stories – remind me of this book and I think she’d get a kick out of it. This is also my favorite book so I try to recommend it to anyone who wants something to read.

The Splendor Falls – My friend Taylor. This book is set in Cahawba, AL which is close to where she is from. We’re not really book friends who compare what we read, but I think she would enjoy the mystery of this book as well as get a kick out of local history and knowing the area where this book is set.

Starcrossed – Again, my sister. She enjoys drama and suspense, as well as action in books. Mix all of this with mythology and I think this book could be right up her alley. And Lucas might be just as dreamy to her as he was to me!

A Great and Terrible Beauty – I would give this to my mom. She loves a good mystery and this book, as well as the series, is full of it. I know it kept me on pins and needles to figure out who people were and what their motives were. I also think my mom might enjoy some of the religion and myth of the book.

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe – My new baby cousin Grant. This is the book (and series) that sparked my interest in fantasy. My fourth grade teacher read these to me and knew even then they were special to me. I would love to be responsible for passing on such a wonderful series to someone else and know he would eventually benefit from having this book in his life.

The Hunger Games – My sister is going to have a great Christmas full of books. For 10 years she and I had a tradition of going to see the Harry Potter movies together and we’re both kind of bummed that it’s over. I think this could be a new series of movies we could enjoy together and I’d love for her to read the books as well before we went to see the movies. Of course, she’s never read Harry Potter…

Thirteen Reasons Why – I would give this to my new aunt and my mom. While I know the material is very serious, I think they would both be a hoot listening to them discuss it. They’ve had many conversations about “Did you hear that so and so died in a massively tragic kind of way?” “No! GASPPPP!!!” I could see them discussing the book the same way. I also think, on a more serious note, they would both really enjoy it and the message the book presents.

A Thousand Lovely Things – I plan on one day giving this book to my friend Taylor’s new daughter, Lucy and my grandmothers. No, this book doesn’t exist yet and currently is sitting partially finished on my hard drive, but one day when it is finished I hope to give it to Lucy, since she’s partially to thank for the main character’s name, and my grandmothers since they are partially to thank for everything else in it.

Boy, this was harder than I thought! I don’t know if I can come up with ten different new books every Tuesday. But what a challenge that would be!

I should point out, this is probably what books for Christmas would be like in our house:

Books for Christmas

Comments make me happy, as do you!

