Dystopian

What do you mean this book isn’t about food?

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Skinny: Every year in Panem the Hunger Games entertains thousands. Or kills 23. However you want to look at it. The Capitol, a shining city surrounded by twelve outlying districts, holds the Hunger Games, a fight to the death of representatives, or tributes as they are called, from each of the districts; one girl and one boy are chosen from each district and forced to participate.

Katniss Everdeen is one of District Twelve’s tributes, a death sentence in her opinion but one that she willingly accepts when she volunteers to take the place of her younger sister who was chosen to be their district’s tribute. Forced to leave her home and prepare for the games, Katniss must make the decision to go against her very being or be killed by those who have already made that decision.

BFF?: Maaaaaaybeeee… I think I would be a little intimidated by Katniss. She’s kind of a hard, no frills sort of girl, but that’s also because she lives in District 12 which is the poorest of the districts. She also takes care of her sister and flaky mom(her dad died) so there’s really no time for fun and games. So I get why she is the way she is. But she also has a really good heart and isn’t afraid to do what she feels is right. This isn’t to say I don’t like her. I really really really x 10 do.

Readability: Like District 12, the Hunger Games is pretty stark. Suzanne Collins doesn’t sugar coat anything or provide flowery prose. Which makes the book that much better. Written in first person you get a good look inside Katniss’ head. Somehow I don’t think it would be quite as good of a story if it wasn’t written this way. Being able to see and feel what Katniss sees and feels makes it more real. And completely terrifying. Two words: Tracker Jackers.

Crush Level: 6 This is the love triangle to end all love triangles. Peeta v. Gale. I’m pretty certain I haven’t flipped back and forth between two guys since… well ever. In this corner we have Peeta Mellark, the son of District 12’s baker who is the district’s other tribute.  He’s loved her since they were younger… he gave her bread! During their time spent together in the Capitol before the Games Peeta’s feelings for Katniss emerge, much to her dismay. How can a girl kill someone who is in love with her?! But in the other corner we have Gale, Katniss’ best friend whom she has known forever. They’re hunting buddies, dreaming of running away from all the pain and problems of District 12. Budding thoughts of romance begin in Katniss’ mind… right before she’s reaped.

I’m gonna go ahead and say it… I’m totally Team for Peeta. While Gale is hot (dark, tall, muscley) he’s just not that into her and Peeta is! Maybe that’s not a good basis for basing where I toss my cap, but whatevs! Peeta is Katniss’ match, in wit, in strength in sarcasm. The way he freely admits how he feels or thinks, not caring what others think about him, is refreshing. Although Katniss resists him at first, it doesn’t sway him from pursuing her and breaking her shell.

“This is the first kiss that we’re both fully aware of. Neither of us hobbled by sickness or pain or simply unconscious. Our lips neither burning with fever or icy cold. This is the first kiss where I actually feel stirring inside my chest. Warm and curious. This is the first kiss that makes me want another.”

Bonus Points:
Costumes – I love love LOVE dressing up in costumes. If I had my way, Halloween would come every month just to give me an excuse to wear them. The Hunger Games costumes are no exception.

Baking – I don’t know if I could handle a man who bakes. But anyone who could whip up a loaf of bread or a plate of cookies or my favorite pie just because definitely earns brownie (no pun intended) points in my book. Especially if he’s got muscley arms from all that kneading…

Makeovers – Katniss would probably agree when I say I’ve yet to figure out why there was this big need for the whole makeover deal just before the Games. But it sure was fun. Who DOESN’T like a good makeover?! Although I’m still a little confused on the leg and bikini waxing that goes on… were they expecting to see these things? I do not know.

Lenny Kravitz – So maaaaayyybbeee… I’m the only one who is thinking this but I think Lenny was an AWESOME casting choice for Cinna. I never really pictured him as Lenny when I was reading the book but when I found out my first thought was “Yeah… I can see that… yeah! Good job, Hollywood!” If anyone can pull off the crazy Capitol fashions while still being a bad-ass, awesomely kind stylist it’s Lenny.

Superlatives – Most Likely to be too AWESOME for a Superlative

May the odds be ever in your favor!

4 thoughts on “What do you mean this book isn’t about food?”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

