Young Adult

Travel By Book: Pacific Northwest

If you’re anything like me, you LOVE to travel, see new places. There are lots of ways to travel too: car, train, bus, plane… but, again, if you’re like me, extensive traveling is pretty much… unextensive. So I’ve come up with a new way of traveling… BY BOOK!

travel by book

There have been many times that I’ve read a book set in a place I’ve never been and immediately felt like I was there. Who needs to ACTUALLY travel there when you’ve just experienced an incredibly journey?

For today’s Travel By Book we’re going to the Pacific Northwest!

My uncle lives in Seattle – like the suburb part – and for years has talked about how beautiful it is up there in the Pacific Northwest. Up until about 5 years ago, all I knew of this area was what I saw on Fraiser. But after reading so many books that are set up in this area I have fallen in love with it and want to make a trip up there happen. While I may hang my head in slight shame, the Twilight series movies made me yearn for it oh so bad. The green! The trees! The mountains! So beautiful!

So pack your bags for the Pacific Northwest and here’s your passport… via books!

Twilight – Obviously this one is going to be first on the list. Forks, WA has become our go-to city when we think of this area. Screw Seattle, Olympia, Portland… we think of Forks now. Great for baseball, camping, weddings and epic vampire showdowns.

If I Stay – The only thing I ever think about when I think of Oregon is The Oregon Trail game I used to play as a kid. Now, I think of If I Stay. Set mainly in Portland, we get to see a cool vibe that’s pretty unique to this area.

The Ramona books – There’s even a park up there with Ramona statues.

The Body Finder – There’s lots of outdoor adventures in this one. Just beware the serial killer.

Any favorite books set in the Pacific Northwest? Let me know if you’ve read any so I can add to the list!

4 thoughts on “Travel By Book: Pacific Northwest”

  1. I grew up reading the Ramona books, and loved them, so I think it’s pretty rad that Ramona statues exist. Also, I enjoyed If I Stay, which I read for the first time last year! I’m fairly certain that the Thunder Point series by Robyn Carr (an adult contemporary romance series) is set here — and it’s pretty good!

    Like

  2. I really like the Pacific Northwest. I’ve been to Seattle and Portland and love it! And I think the books you chose to highlight this area is perfect. Definitely Twilight!

    Like

  3. The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein and Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford are two beautiful books set in Seattle.

    I’m reading and reviewing an ARC called Tea and Primroses by Tess Thompson which takes place on the Oregon coast.

    It really makes many of us Washingtonians face-palm when people associated Twilight with our state since it’s such an embarrassment to us, but many people love the series, so… ; )

    OH I DID NOT KNOW ABOUT THE RAMONA BOOKS. Super cool.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!