To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Quotable Quotes

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

toptentuesdayI love quotes. You can quote me on that. Deja vu! I did this topic back in May of 2012 and find it’s still one of my favorites I’ve done. I love quotes oh so much and one of the best things about reading, for me, is finding lines that strike a chord or pull at your heart or are just so relevant to you and your life that it’s almost certain the author wrote those words just for you.

Here are ten more of my favorite book quotes:

Deception – But fires only burn until you starve them for fuel.

Whistling Past the Graveyard Some of the best things in life come when you’re not planning on them. It’s important to see them for the gift they are.

Unravel Me – I feel myself begin to blush and I wonder at my inability to be so free with words and feelings. I wonder at my incapacity for easy banter, smooth conversation, empty words to fill awkward moments. I don’t have a closet filled with umms and ellipses ready to insert at the beginnings and ends of sentences. I don’t know how to be a verb, an adverb, any kind of modifier. I’m a noun through and through 

Siege and Storm I am a solider. I am the Sun Summoner. And I’m the only chance you have.

Perfect Ruin Now that we’ve had that first kiss, the tension is severed. He can kiss me a thousand times. Ten thousand.

Allegiant I fell in love with him. But I don’t stay with him by default as if there’s no one else available to me. I stay with him because I choose to, every day that I wake up, every day that we fight or lie to each other or disappoint each other. I choose him over and over again, and he chooses me.

Dark TriumphAnd just as love has two sides, so too does Death. While Ismae will serve as His mercy, I will not, for that is not how He fashioned me. Every death I have witnessed, every horror I have endured, has forged me to be who I am — Death’s justice.

Monsters of Men And I kiss him. And it feels like, finally.

Tiger LilyTiger Lily, do you think magic exists if it can be explained? I can explain why I loved you, I can explain the theory of evolution that tells me why mermaids live in Neverland and nowhere else. But it still feels like magic.

The Vanishing Season (from an ARC so don’t quote me on this)How do you lose the thread of your own story, the one you are supposed to know by heart?

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Quotable Quotes”

  1. Yay: I was hoping someone would pick this one. WE didn’t because we already put up quotes on a weekly basis.Of course you know I love the one from “Monsters of Men,” “Siege and Storm” and “Allegiant,” but I also really like the swoony one from “Perfect Ruin,” the philosophical one from “Dark Triumph” and “The Vanishing Season.”

    Like

  2. Love these – and so many of these books are awesome! The most quotable book I’ve read recently is The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin – I think it comes out in April and there are SO MANY excellent quotes about books and reading in there.

    Like

  3. oooh what an awesome choice for this week!! I love quotes, the one from Dark Triumph is getting me so excited to read that book, it’s at the top of my TBR pile!

    Like

  4. We picked the same topic!! Great minds think alike 😉 I adore quotes. I love/hate how they always seem so much better at articulating my feelings than I’m able to myself. I love that you quoted Tiger Lily. I read that book so long ago that I can’t remember it, but that book is beautiful in itself.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

