Mythology, Young Adult

The god Apollo, Adventures await for him, This book was quite great

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

book-hidden-oracle

The Skinny: How do you punish an immortal? By making him human. After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.

But Apollo has many enemies—gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go… an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood. -From Goodreads

BFF?: I think I’ve read way too many Rick Riordan books because all of his boy characters seem to be the same person. I mean, they’re obviously different and have different personalities, but I kinda feel like none of them are unique. Well, Percy Jackson because he’s been in what… 11 books now? 12? Apollo did have some distinguishable traits, such as arrogance and narcissism, but at the end of the day he was pretty likable. You know, after some major self-reflection and redemption throughout the book.

We also get a new character, Meg, who is precious. She’s quirky and sassy, mysterious and mouthy. Definitely a good balance for Apollo. She’s one of the reasons Riordan’s characters work so well; they are this fabulous balance of childlike and wise beyond their years. I really enjoyed seeing the dynamics of Meg and am curious to see where we get to go with her character.

Readability: If you’ve read one Riordan book, you’ve read them all. I don’t mean that negatively of course because they’re all great. This one read just as well as his others, easy going and fun but every so often a scene or a line would slap you in the gut. One thing I found fun was the haiku at the beginning of each chapter. They were fun to read!

Crush Level: Err….?
I’m not so sure that I had a crush level in this one. I have a hard time getting crushes on Riordan’s characters because they just seem so young. And while Apollo is TECHNICALLY a millennium old god, he’s a 16 year old in this book. I do not want to be the creeper old lady who crushes on him.

Bonus Points
Myrmekes

troy_achilles
So I’m not an ant person by any means, but fun fact time: Achilles led a group of soldiers called Myrmidons, which references ants. Brad Pitt played Achilles and was super hot. Every time Myrmekes appeared in the book, I got to think of how hot Brad Pitt was in the movie.

Dad
my-three-sons1

Even though Apollo was 16 in the book, it was still fun to see him embrace being a dad. There were quite a few dad scenes that tugged on my heart strings!

Commencement Speech: There is no way I can turn down a Rick Riordan book (except the Egyptian ones… I was very bored reading the first one in the series. I just don’t like Egyptian mythology very much). When I read the last of the Heroes of Olympus series I felt very “what do I do now?!” because I seriously love this world. So yay that there’s a new series starting!

The Trials of Apollo series (The Hidden Oracle) starts out pretty abruptly. Boom! Apollo is human. I’ll be honest, I can’t remember what happened at the end of The Blood of Olympus, but this takes place several months thereafter. Luckily, Apollo was just as confused as I was so I got to catch up as he did. As I mentioned, this book has the same feel as the others in this series. A little sarcastic, a little silly, but completely full of adventure and heart. While yes, we are seeing this world now through a (former) god’s eyes, it doesn’t feel SO different. And Apollo doesn’t seem SO different from our other favorite characters.

Speaking characters, we get to meet several new ones as well as get to see several familiar faces. Obviously we get to see Percy Jackson, but let’s take a moment to focus on two of my favorites in this book, Will Solace and Nico di Angelo. Who are a couple now and are adorable. I don’t know much about Will, but I have watched Nico grow up over the years and I swear to Zeus, Will, if you hurt him I will hunt you down.

One thing I felt this book slightly lacked was a large presence of Greek mythology. I mean, there was LOTS, but one of the best parts of Riordan’s past books was discovering different deities and monsters and such. I just didn’t feel like we made many new discoveries in this one. Maybe because there have been 10 books prior to it and we’re running out of things to discover.

Overall, fun start to a new series! I’m excited to see what’s next and to get to know more of these fun characters!

Yearbook Quote: Nothing is more tragic than loving someone to the depths of your soul and knowing they cannot and will not ever love you back.

Like this post? You may like these too:

red pyramid the-iliad-and-human-destiny The Goddess Test

Comments make me happy, as do you!

