Young Adult

2015 End of the Year Survey

2015-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984It’s here! The End of the Year Survey! I love doing this one every year and this year’s survey proved to be just as hard as past years! Thanks to Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner for hosting this!

 

Reading Stats

Number Of Books You Read: 71… 9 books short of my goal!
Number of Re-Reads: 12
Genre You Read The Most From: Fantasy… what else?

Best in Books

1. Best Book You Read In 2015?

Contemporary – P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han – Definitely one of the best contemporary books I’ve read period.

Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic – Queen by Aimee Carter – This is actually the only dystopian book I read this year. Funny…

Historical Fiction – Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson – I think this is TECHNICALLY considered fantasy, maybe? It takes place in an (somewhat) accurate historical setting though, so I’m counting it!

Paranormal — Compulsion by Martina Boone – Oh yes, this was paranormally splendid!

Science Fiction — I didn’t actually read any science fiction this year. I’m currently reading Illuminae, and it’s very science fictiony (and so far pretty good!)

Fantasy — Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

I need to preface my answer first: I DID ENJOY THIS BOOK A TON! Now that that’s out of the way…

Mortal Heart by Robin LeFevers – I really liked this one and it was filled with all the intensity, excitement, sexiness, and adventure as the other two in this series, but it didn’t wow me like Grave Mercy and Dark Triumph did.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  

To All the Boys I’ve Loved by Jenny Han – This was a hugely surprising book in the very best of ways. It was my first Jenny Han book and after the first little bit (like couple pages in) I assumed it would just be a sweet, feel-good book. Boy… was I EVER wrong! This one (and its sequel) hit me right in the feels!

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

I did no pushing the year, friends… I might have gotten excited to see that someone was reading a book I read and enjoyed, but didn’t actively push anything on anyone.

 5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?

This was not really the year of series for me… I feel like I read several series starters, but even fewer sequels and enders!

Starter: The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows – This was such an AWESOME series starter! I’ve actually already read the sequel, which is equally as awesome, but definitely one of the best starters I read this year!

Sequel: Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins, The Winners Crime by Marie Rutkoski (maybe?)

Ender: The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan, The Iron Warrior by Julie Kagawa – Neither of these are what I would call the “best” of the year, but now that both of these series have ended, I feel a bit like NOW WHAT?!?! The Percy Jackson and Iron Fey worlds are two of my absolute favorites and I feel a bit lost knowing they’ve both ended.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?

Jenny Han. No…. she’s not new, but she is new to me. I feel like I have jumped feet first into Jenny’s books this year and can’t wait to read more from her! Only wish I’d started reading her books years ago!

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness – I feel like all of Patrick Ness’s books are out of my comfort zone. This one in particular really was though, but not in a “I do not read books like these” kind of way. This one just stretched that comfort zone.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – Couldn’t put this one down! Like I literally think the only time I stopped reading it was to either eat or go to the bathroom. It was THAT good!

 9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

The Greatest Gift by Ann Voskamp – Okay, this is technically cheating by listing this because this is my Advent/Christmas devotional… but I don’t know what else I’d re-read next year. Maybe Red Queen to get ready for the next book in the series.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?

There weren’t TOO many covers I was IN LOVE with this year, but here are a few I liked:

11. Most memorable character of 2015?

Cadie from The Devil You Know by Trish Dollar – Cadie is one of those characters who I found myself really identifying with, not as teenage Candice but as grown woman Candice. No matter how old I get, I think I’ll always struggle with the decision between doing something outrageous and being completely sensible… from my review

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?

I don’t know if this was the MOST beautifully written book out of all that I read, but The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness was (of course) beautiful. Incredibly touching and get down in your bones moving. I’m also going to say Hero and Dearest by Alethea Kontis, mostly because this series is simply lovely.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?

Overextended… and Loving Most of It by Lisa Harper – I wouldn’t say that this one changed my life but it did give me lots to think about. Namely adoption and the possibilities, complications, rewards, tears and joy it can bring.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read? 

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han – Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide gave me a copy of this the first year The Selective Collective did our Secret Santa. It’s sat on my shelf ever since and I finally picked it up this year. Here’s what I wrote on Goodreads about it: Just when I thought this book was a fluffy feel-good book, Jenny Han hit me right in the feels. I can see why this one was loved so hard by so many!

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?

You know I can’t narrow it down to one!

You are still the one I love. You are the one I will love until the day I die. – The Perilous Sea by Sherry Thomas

He was tickling himself and that tickled the world. – As You Wish by Carey Elwes

“I liked that sweater.” … “I liked my hand.”
Blythe rolled her eyes. “You were the one who grabbed the knife.”
– Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

None of it matters. Or if it matters, it’s only because it makes everything else more beautiful. – The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Watch and pray, dear, never get tired of trying, and never think it is impossible to conquer your fault. – Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?

Shortest: The Boxcar Children Graphic Novel by Shannon Eric Denton – 32 Pages

Longest: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas – 648 (extremely long) Pages

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – That ending… Guys, I still DO NOT accept that ending.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

This isn’t something I’ve ever really done… but I will just leave it with Mia and Michael.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

I feel slightly bad for not really paying attention to any of these this year. I know there were some great friendship/non-romantic relationships in the books I read this year, but all the ones I can think of did turn romantic…

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George – This one was so unique and impressive. I had a hard time putting it down and was really happy JDG’s newest book didn’t disappoint; I’ve loved all the others I’ve read by her!

Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot – Seriously this list would not be complete without me mentioning this book SOMEWHERE. This is the book us Princess Diaries fans have been waiting for forever!

21. Best Book You Read In 2015That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Probably either Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo or Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. I wasn’t super excited about either, but felt the pressure to read them. I wasn’t disappointed, but I wasn’t blown away either.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?

Eight Beaufort from the Heirs of Watson Island series (Compulsion & Persuasion) – Little bit of a charmer, little bit of a jerk, little bit of a Southern gentleman, little bit overprotective… this boy was clearly designed for me.

23. Best 2015 debut you read?

So looking at my books that I read this year, the only debut book I read was Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

The Devil You Know by Trish Dollar – That journey through Florida and the Everglades… definitely felt like I was there at times and wishing I wasn’t!

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – It’s been months since I read this book and I can STILL see the landscape, the palace, the homes, the slums, the rivers… definitely a world that stuck with me!

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Darth Vader and Friends – This was really adorable. Part of me wishes I had a Star Wars fan in my life to give a copy of this to!

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han. Guys… I read this on my trip back home from NYC and had to stop reading on the plane because I was nearly in TEARS! Not that this is a sad book, but man on man… there were a few moments that hit entirely too close to home.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Doon by Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon – I’d wanted to read it for a while now so I was very excited when I finally did. While it’s not a new book (ie came out this year) I feel like for me it was a definite hidden gem!

Compulsion by Martina Boone – Sandie at Teen Lit Rocks sent me a copy of this one. It had been on my radar for a while before she sent it, but I don’t know of anyone who has read it/talked about it. But if you have, let me know! I really liked it!

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

The Curious Tale of the In-Between by Lauren Destefano – Incredibly sweet, definitely touching, made my heart ache.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?

As much as I disliked it… Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley. Bird people… man…

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell – So I didn’t have very high expectations of this one anyway and didn’t even plan on reading it. But I did and it went about as well as could be expected. What made me mad – and I’m not sure if you could even say mad – was that this book was kind of cringe-worthy.

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley – This one actually started out really good for me. I was completely into it. Then… bird people.

Blogging/Bookish Life

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015?

Didn’t really discover any new blogs this year I’m afraid.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2015?

I’ve also included some excerpts from those reviews:

Doon – “One does not just say no to a sexy Scottish prince*! (*obviously you can say no… no means no)” “I feel like I need to talk about why it was iffy at first before I start gushing about sexy Scottish princes discussing the book.”

Red Queen – “I couldn’t put this one down! I loved the sassy narration mixed in with the beautiful prose.” “…but c’mon with that ending… COME ON!”

Carry On – “Not all 17 year old boys can be Jonah effing Griggs.” “…if you’re going to write about a magical world, there is no room for Muggle speak in it.” “Baz was slightly dreamy… you know, as dreamy as a wizard vampire (vampire wizard? wizpire? vampard?) can be.”

Magonia – “And there was some other guy and I don’t remember his name but he got a 1 too.” “PIRATE SHIP! Argghh!” “I’m not even kidding here. Bird people.”

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

Hillary Rodham Clinton Presidential Playset Blog Tour – I had a total fangirl moment when I was asked to be a part of this blog tour. Typically I DON’T participate in tours but I’d been eyeballing this book for quite a while, so when I was asked… Yes! Absolutely yes!

To My YA Self – Ginger at G Reads Books hosted this feature and this was absolutely the hardest, most rewarding post I’ve ever written. There are very few posts that even come close to it.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

Well I went to BEA this year, that was pretty fantastic!

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?

Don’t know if this counts really as either, but waiting in line to meet Mindy Kaling and get her autograph was pretty epic. I feel like if I hadn’t been a blogger or a reader, this might have never happened!

Also, having people come up to me at BEA and saying “I follow your blog! I love it!” I felt like a rock star so many times during BEA, which was a complete surprise. Over the past year or so I’ve felt my blog has become like a B-list (or even C-list) celebrity, so it was good to have people make me feel like my blog is still relevant! 🙂

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

Um… blogging and reading in general? This year has been a total wreck when it came to both. I don’t know if it’s just lack of enthusiasm or if real life has just gotten too “real” for blogging, but I just haven’t been able to make myself do it very much.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

Featured Fairy Tales: The Little Mermaid – 118 Views

I’d like to point out that this the HARDEST Featured Fairy Tales I’ve ever written, mostly because I find the Little Mermaid soul-crushing.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Pretty sure I say this every year: All of them?

Hillary Rodham Clinton Presidential Playset Blog Tour – Honestly, I wish this one had gotten more love, mostly because I’m a bit egotistical and thought my pictures on it were super great (see? egotistical)

GUYA’s Favorite Things: Zelda References – I’m always so excited when I get to reference Zelda, but it’s a teensy bit more exciting when I get to with a book! Maybe I’m the only person who feels this way though…

9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

I never make any discoveries it seems… but I will say I’m HIGHLY impressed with Novelly Yours, Brittany at the Book Addict’s Guide’s newest endeavor. I haven’t gotten into bookish candles (mostly because I’m not really a big candle person in general) but seeing them has made me SO excited, both for the candles and her! Definitely proud of her and her success so far – I know it will only get better and better!

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Ha… I don’t even remember WHAT my challenges and goals were!

Looking Ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?

There are quite a few books that I didn’t get to this year, but to be honest, I don’t really “plan” to read books anymore. I’ve definitely become a lot more by the seat of my pants when it comes to reading and just pick up whatever strikes my fancy. Sure, I may miss some of the biggest books of the year, but so what? They’ll still be here next year!

That being said… there are a couple that I didn’t read this year that I wanted to. I had wanted to reread the Lunar Chronicles before reading Fairest and Winter. While it’s not a priority, that may be a fun series to start in the new year. There were also a few books that I got at BEA that I had wanted to read, but was never quite “in the mood.” Hopefully they’ll get read in the new year as well!

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)?

Pretty sure every list will have this one, but I’m really looking forward to The Raven King by Maggie Steifvater. But then again, who isn’t?!

3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye – This is a newer find for me and it sounds fantastic!

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016?

Um… The Raven King? I just said that one…

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?

Reading – Read a bigger variety of books. I think one of the reasons I didn’t read a ton this year was because I’m pretty burnt out on YA. And not really books, but more the whole YA scene. None of it seems to hold my interest any longer, so I’ve found myself not caring about all the popular big releases and staying current on what’s going on. Not to sound rude or critical of course… just feel like I’ve lost interest. One of the things that has helped my reading slump/lack of interest has been seeking out newer types of books. Which leads me to…

Blogging – Changing how I blog. The Grown-Up YA has evolved (and de-evolved) over the years and I feel like its current state is kind of crappy. I don’t put up reviews, I don’t put up discussion posts, I don’t do any features… again, real life was crazy this year, but I think it’s time to change how I blog. In the past I let things go, stopped worrying I wasn’t doing it “right” and that was so incredibly freeing. Now though, I feel like I’ve let things go so much my blog is an overgrown mess of a yard that needs some major pruning. So hopefully in 2016 I can actually get myself back on track!

6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows – LOVED. Read it as soon as you can!

 

2 thoughts on “2015 End of the Year Survey”

  1. I still need to read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before! I’ve heard such amazing things. And BEA was awesome. I loved meeting you in real life!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

