Let's go to the movies!, To Do Lists

Top Ten Tuesday – Villainous Costumes

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

It is no secret that I LOVE Halloween. It’s probably my favorite holiday of the year. what makes it so special for me is dressing up. I love a good costume but rarely have the opportunity to wear one. That’s why Halloween is so perfect!

Last year for this particular Top Ten Tuesday I did bookish costumes, which I love doing, but didn’t want to just copy last year’s post. So this year I went a slightly different route and did bookish villains costumes! So if you’re like me and love a good villain, here are some ideas you may want to keep in mind as you’re putting together your own costume:

Also, hover over the pictures for descriptions!

Jadis/White Witch, Chronicles of Narnia – Is there a scarier villain out there?

Miss Trunchbull – Honestly, this is the stuff of nightmares!

President Snow, The Hunger Games – I have soft spot for Snow, but he is quite scary!

King Leck, Graceling and Fire – Ohhhh my! Want to scare someone? Dress up as Leck!

The Horned King, The Black Cauldron – Please see below story.

Horned King Story: When I was a little girl we had a video of… something. I can’t remember now what movie it was. ANYWAY… the previews on this tape included one for The Black Cauldron. This movie came out in ’85, so that tells you how long ago it was. The preview for The Black Cauldron was TERRIFYING! All it showed was the evil Horned King and his disgusting “cauldron born.” I didn’t actually see the movie until I was a teenager, but lemme just say that the preview did the Horned King no justice; he was even more terrifying in the movie!

Mrs. Coulter, The Golden Compass – Manipulative villains are so much better than scary ones!

 

The Darkling, Shadow & Bone series – If you’re going for sexy evil…

Nellie Olsen, Little House on the Prairie – The worst villain of them all!

 

Deloris Umbridge, Harry Potter – Not quite as obvious as Voldemort, but nearly just as villainous!

Valentine, Mortal Instruments – In the words of Jay Z, all black everything. And a long blonde wig.

 

Happy Halloweeen!!!!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Villainous Costumes”

    1. I know, right?! I read Matilda in 3rd grade I think and to this day still remember how terrifying she was when she first stepped onto the pages. I’m not a huge fan of the movie, but I will give it to them that they were spot on with The Trunchbull!

      Like

  1. Awesome costume ideas! And you mentioned THE BLACK CAULDRON! I loved those books and the cartoon as a kid!! I totally want to use all of these ideas for costumes now LOL

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

