Contemporary, Young Adult

Emmy and Oliver

Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

book emmy oliver

The Skinny: Emmy’s best friend, Oliver, reappears after being kidnapped by his father ten years ago. Emmy hopes to pick up their relationship right where it left off. Are they destined to be together? Or has fate irreparably driven them apart? -From Goodreads

BFF?: I had a slightly hard time with Emmy. Oh, I liked her, don’t get me wrong. I thought she was kind and caring, a true friend through and through. But the whole thing with her parents… I just didn’t “get” it. I understood the need for rebelling against their strict rules, because those rules were kind of ridiculous (although well founded), but didn’t understand Emmy’s sneaking around. Other than the surfing, I just found it odd that she didn’t have enough backbone when it came to her parents because she seemed to have one in every other part of her life.

Readability: Definitely well written, easy to get into and I loved finding myself wrapped up in the story!

Crush Level: 5
I’m sure you’re looking at that 5 and scratching your head. Oliver was really sweet and I liked him a whole lot, but I think I didn’t see him so much as a crush-worthy object as much as I saw him as the sweet little brother of a friend. Who had something really awful happen to him so I felt bad for him and his situation. However, my friend’s little brother sure did get cute! I loved seeing him and Emmy together, watching their friendship bloom again.

Bonus Points
Kidnapping After-Effects

reporters
There’s nothing America loves more than a sensational story, and I loved seeing it unfold within this book. After Oliver is kidnapped, we get to see all the effects that has on the people left in his life. It was almost heartbreaking seeing all of the reporters badgering the families, the way they had to adjust their lives and completely change outlooks and attitudes.

Commencement Speech: I really loved reading this one! It was adorable, deep without being drowning, and just a fun, sweet read! While the plot had the potential to be over the top or overdone, I felt it didn’t go there. Instead we were left with true characters who had ups and downs, happiness and sadness, and hope for a happy ending. Even the most dramatic scenes didn’t leave you feeling overwhelmed, which I appreciated. Overall great book and the perfect summer (or any time really) read!

Yearbook Quote: None! ARC!

Like this post? You may like these too:

book where stars still shine Dirty Little Secret by Jennifer Echols such a rush

4 thoughts on “Emmy and Oliver”

  1. I can understand what you mean about Emmy not standing up to her parents a bit more. I mean, I really liked Emmy, but I can completely see where you are coming from.

    I did really like Oliver. I wanted more and more and more Oliver. But also, I can’t say I was exactly crushing on him.

    Like

  2. I’ve been really interested to read this one because I LOVE the “Bffs fall in love” trope. It’s on my list for this year for sure. I didn’t actually know Oliver had been kidnapped and that was a major part of the plot, and that sounds like a really interesting and different premise!

    Like

    1. I love that trope too, but this is a little different than the one we’re normally shown. Mostly because it’s like they used to be BFFs then they have to become friends all over again. So seeing the friendship dynamic develop first was very endearing. The kidnapped plot really added a unique twist, not only to the plot itself but to just about everything else in the story! I hope you get a chance to pick this one up and enjoy it!

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

