Young Adult

Post BEA (or Why My Feet Hate Me)

I did it! I survived my very first (and I’m 99% sure last) BEA! It was an amazing time and I wanted to share a little bit of it with you! Since I kind of feel like posting tons of pictures of all the books I picked up is a little bragging for me, I thought that I’d instead talk about the highlights (and maybe some lowlights) of the trip. This may be a little bragging too… whatever. 😉

One of the main reasons I wanted to go to BEA was to meet all the fantastic bloggers I’ve known for so many years. Sure it’s great getting lots of free books, but I already have enough books. I didn’t actually NEED any more. Meeting all my blogger friends was so exciting and I loved running into people on the floor. Honestly, I felt a little like Jane Bennett from the Lizzie Bennett Diaries. I think I said “Hi, it’s so good to see you!” more than I care to admit. But honestly, it WAS so nice to see these people!

jane bennet

I really want to name names of who I met – not in a name-dropping kind of way but rather a “these people were absolutely LOVELY!” kind of way – but then I might leave someone out and would feel awful. So I won’t. However, if we met while I was up there, I’m 100% talking about you! 🙂

I also got to meet some of my SC girls – Kristina from Gone Pecan, Sandie from Teen Lit Rocks! and Brittany from The Book Addict’s Guide! 3 down, 3 more to go! 🙂

IMG_1437[1]

What was hilarious to me was that people who I didn’t know knew me and would say “Oh, I follow you blog! It’s so great!” It made me feel like a rock star. I know my blog has been around for several years now, but for the most part I always feel like it’s a little obsolete. So to have people know who I am and enjoy my blog made me feel really special. Thanks!

On the flip side, the fact that I didn’t know these people who knew me made me feel AWFUL so post-BEA resolution is to get to know some of these people!

Now for a lowlight: Tuesday night at Jenny Han’s book launch party I got SICK! It was awful and I had to leave early. We had gone to Shake Shack before the party and I’m sad to say that it, combined with traveling and not having enough water, made me sick and gave me a little bit of food poisoning. However, before I got sick, that shizz was DELICIOUS! I’m really glad we went there and Alabama needs to get on the ball and get one of those! Also, Jenny Han’s new book, P.S. I Still Love You, is perfect and you need to read it. Also also, thanks to Sandie for keeping my copy and getting Jenny to sign it! 🙂

I’m sure everyone thought they had the best group of roommates, but in reality my group of roommates were the best. It was wonderful getting to know those fantastic ladies and I loved staying up all night just chatting with them. I was a teensy bit worried that it might be awkward – despite my excellent Jane Bennet impression I’m really nervous meeting new people – but from the first day it was totally comfortable. By the end of the week I was SO SAD to not get to see them anymore!

roomates

One thing that amused me the entire week was feeling incredibly Southern. Now, I know I always feel that way, but I guess being in a different part of the country makes one more aware of herself. I noticed my accent more, and I’m SO glad people told me it was cute. I rarely hear it and most times think I sound like a Yankee. (True story: the first time the BGFF and I talked on the phone he told me I sounded like I was from Wisconsin.) I was asked if we had cowboys in Alabama by an author’s publicist (assistant? gofer? I don’t know what she was). I almost asked her if she actually knew where Alabama was. Cowboys in Alabama… c’mon.

Also, New York, we must talk… Snapple does not equal tea. I know you don’t do the sweet tea, and I’m fine with that. But for the love… SNAPPLE DOES NOT EQUAL TEA! Every time I saw someone drinking a bottle of it I wanted to smack it out of their hand and offer to make them a glass of the real stuff. And then there was this…

Go home, New York. You're drunk.
Go home, New York. You’re drunk.

We went to see Wicked!!! It was oh so good and I feel like I can die happy now.

IMG_1418[1]

Speaking of dying happy… this happened while I was up there.

OMG MINDY!!!!!! I waited in line to meet her for so long but you know what? It was absolutely worth it. She was lovely and kind and beautiful. I want to be her when I grow up (yes, I’m aware she’s only a few years older than me). The best part, besides meeting her of course, was making friends with two other ladies while I was in line. The three of us fangirled the entire 2+ hours we waited in line, talked about what we did for a living, what we liked to read, fangirled some more, agreed to take pictures of each other with Mindy. After all three of us met her, we squealed together and then had a big group hug before parting ways. Honestly, this is the kind of stuff good memories are made of.

Overall, BEA was a wonderful trip. I’m still exhausted and sore, but it was absolutely worth it. I had such a good time and met some really wonderful people. I’m very glad that I was finally able to go and had such a good time. This will most likely be the only time I go but it was definitely an experience I will remember forever!

IMG_1396[1]

12 thoughts on “Post BEA (or Why My Feet Hate Me)”

  1. BEST ROOMIES EVER. I loved that no matter how bone tired I was I would end up talking for 2 hours with y’all and be wide awake and then have to FORCE myself to go to bed and not talk. LOVED meeting you and spending time with you!!!

    Like

    1. I KNOW!!! I NEVER stay up that late, especially on a school night (yes, I still call them these!). I loved our late night chats! 🙂

      It was great meeting you as well!!!

      Like

  2. Candice! I’m so so so glad I got to meet you. Meeting you was definitely one of the best parts of BEA! And I love your Jane Bennet impersonation. Also, I’m sort of afraid to tell you that I love Diet raspberry Tea from Snapple! 🙂

    But, I also love just regular, real tea. So I think that’s okay!

    Like

    1. I’m so glad I got to meet YOU!!!! I hate that we don’t live closer so we could actually hang out; I had so much fun hanging out at BEA with you! Since you do love regular real tea, I’ll forgive your love for Snapple. 😉

      Like

  3. What do you mean only time going to BEA?? That makes me sad 😦 We did have the best roommate situation going on!! I was SO happy to meet all 3 of you equally!! And I agree, you are very southern! Now I’m thristy, I think I’ll go have a Coke (aka Mt. Dew).

    Like

    1. Haha! I just don’t know if I can do a trip like that again… IF I go next year, I’d probably do more of a true vacation to Chicago and then maybe one day at BEA. It was wonderful getting to room with you (and the other ladies of course!); definitely had a blast! And you crack me up about me being very Southern… I mean, I know I am, I just don’t ever realize it until I leave here! 🙂

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

