To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – BEA Goals

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.toptentuesday

BEA is a week away!!! OMG I’m so excited!!!! I thought that since today’s Top Ten Tuesday was a freebie, I’d list the top then things I’m most excited about for BEA. Hint: it doesn’t include just books!

 
Here are my Top Ten BEA Things I’m Looking Forward To:

Meet part of my SC Girls – I cannot explain just how excited I am to meet 4 of my 7 favorite ladies at BEA! Sandie from Teen Lit Rocks, Kristina from Gone Pecan, and Brittany from The Book Addict’s Guide… get ready for hugs!

Meeting Mindy Kaling – If I can’t meet Amy Poehler or Tina Fey, Mindy Kaling is a great alternative. I loved her book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? and I’m kind of really excited about her upcoming book Why Not Me? (a question I continuously ask myself!) I probably will just smile and say “thank you” if I do manage to get her to sign a book, but I can at least pretend we had a great convo and brag to you all that we’re now BFFs.

Heck, meeting EVERYONE – There are so many bloggers and authors I’m excited about meeting. Pretty sure that I’m not even going for books, just to meet people and take selfies and chat in person with these lovely people I’ve known for so long!

Flying – I am a total sucker for flying. I love everything about it: exploring new airports, using words such as “terminal” and “flight plan,” pretending I’m one of the bad vampires from Twilight as I walk on the moving walkways (don’t act like you don’t do this too!). I love the feeling while taking off, seeing the fluffy clouds, thinking of the impossibility of flying and how it’s been achieved. Quite frankly, I just love flying and am so excited I get to do so in just a week!

Sightseeing – While the majority of my day will be inside Javits (right? This is correct, yes?) I’m kind of excited about getting to explore some of NYC. I’ve been before, but think it’s going to be fun playing tourist this time around!

Maybe seeing Wicked – One of my roomies and I are kicking around this idea, but I’m sort of thinking that if she isn’t up for it I might go anyway. Not to be rude of course, but how often do I go to NYC? Seeing Wicked on Broadway… that’s the dream!

Food – Look, I love the food where I live and think we have some pretty delicious dishes, but I’ll be honest… one of the BEST hamburgers I’ve ever had in my entire life was in NYC and I am looking forward to trying more things. I’m obviously not going to pig out or anything, but my diet is certainly going to be put on hold!

Just hanging out – I’m all about going out and having fun, but at the end of the day, I’m good with just sitting around the hotel lobby bar whatever chatting and laughing and just enjoying each others company. With cocktails. Always cocktails. 🙂 Hopefully there will be some time for this!!!

Books – It’s funny: for the past 3 years that I’ve been in the blogging world whenever it gets to be BEA time it seems that everyone is only talking about how many books they’re going to get. My attitude is more that I’m just excited to go and meeting people. Books, for me, are just the sprinkles. Yeah, it’s great to get them, but my sundae would be perfectly delicious without them. It’s been FANTASTIC to see so many bloggers expressing this same attitude. Most of the ones I’ve talked to have had very short lists of books they want but much longer lists of people they want to see and things they want to do.

Getting a REAL vacation – I cannot remember the last time that I enjoyed a real vacation. Not a long weekend to the beach but a real, genuine, take-a-whole-week-off-from-work vacation. It’s going to be so nice to get away from work and town and just go somewhere to have FUN!

Are you going to BEA? What are you most excited for? Also… if you’re going… LET’S HANG OUT!!! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – BEA Goals”

  1. What a fun list! I’m so excited for you on your BEA adventure. I love that your list is about the whole experience! And omg I would love to meet Mindy Kaling but I would be sooo nervous. Her book is the one reason I wish I was going to BEA. Hope you have a blast and do get to see a show, have great food, and fun bookish adventures 🙂

    Like

  2. OMG! OMG! OMG!
    I am so jealous at the moment. It sounds like you’re just going to have the best time EVER! I’m so excited for you and I can’t wait for the post where you’ll tell us all about your New York book-filled journey!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

