Contemporary, Young Adult

The Devil You Say!

The Devil You Know by Trish Doller

devil you know book

The Skinny: Eighteen-year-old Arcadia wants adventure. Living in a tiny Florida town with her dad and four-year-old brother, Cadie spends most of her time working, going to school, and taking care of her family. So when she meets two handsome cousins at a campfire party, she finally has a chance for fun. They invite her and friend to join them on a road trip, and it’s just the risk she’s been craving-the opportunity to escape. But what starts out as a fun, sexy journey quickly becomes dangerous when she discovers that one of them is not at all who he claims to be. One of them has deadly intentions.  A road trip fling turns terrifying in this contemporary story that will keep readers on the edge of their seats. -From Goodreads

BFF?: Arcadia, or Cadie as she goes by, comes from a dysfunctional home, her mom has died and her dad doesn’t know how to cope. She’s practically raising her little brother and is missing out on being a teenager. She doesn’t know what her future is, she doesn’t know about college or jobs or anything other than she needs to get out of her town. I loved seeing how she took this wild chance and had an adventure, but I loved seeing her inner struggle with her decision to leave and her guilt over leaving. I loved that she missed her family despite the fact that she was so angry with her home situation. Cadie is one of those characters who I found myself really identifying with, not as teenage Candice but as grown woman Candice. No matter how old I get, I think I’ll always struggle with the decision between doing something outrageous and being completely sensible, as well as being uncertain about her future.

Readability: Pretty sure Trish Doller cannot write anything bad. Like she just can’t. I love how her writing is contemporary but absolutely magical. This is only my 2nd book of hers to read, but I got lost in it just as easily as I did her other book!

Crush Level: 7
We’re given two gentlemen in this one: Matt, who is clean cut, kinda preppy in his polo shirts and khakis; and Noah, who is edgier with tattoos and a scar from getting into a fight in his younger years. While the decision on who to crush on seems pretty obvious in this case, there are so many situations where you just DON’T KNOW WHO TO CRUSH ON!!! Then all sorts of mysterious things start to happen, which throws the crushing for a loop and honestly, it’s kind of thrilling. But, anyway, my crush level pretty much went to Noah all the way. I know, I know… he’s not my typical crush-worthy guy, but there was just something so genuinely sweet about him that I couldn’t help but develop a crush! Sure, he had some cringe-worthy moments, but I found him to be a very average guy and not this fairy tale character we sometimes come across. And at the end of the day, don’t you want a real boy instead of a fairy tale?

Bonus Points
Swampy Setting

swamp
Florida is my least favorite state of all the states I’ve been to. I know, it’s got Disney World and the beach and a colorful cast of characters, but it’s just pretty blech to me. However, my feelings towards the state didn’t diminish how much I loved the settings throughout the book! As Arcadia travels around with the boys we get to see all sorts of places, from camp grounds to creeks and rivers to swamplands with gators. It’s just really something spectacular.

Commencement Speech: As I said earlier I absolutely love Trish Doller, so when I was approved on NetGalley for The Devil You Know I knew it was a) going to be fabulous and b) one of this year’s favorites. I was right on both counts. I think what I love best about her books is that she writes these honest characters. They’re not the prettiest or the smartest or the whatever-est, but they’re honest. They’re rough around the edges and have real problems and fears and insecurities. While the plot and setting and situations were incredible, I think what drew me in were the characters. They just MADE this book for me.

There’s not much more I can say about this book other than I absolutely LOVED it and it sealed the deal for me. Trish Doller can write no wrong!

Yearbook Quote: “And you haven’t really lived until you’ve experienced Ring of Fire.” “On the other hand, I haven’t really died, either.”

I don’t typically put quotes from ARCs, but I really loved these lines!

Like this post? You may like these too:

book where stars still shine Dirty Little Secret by Jennifer Echols such a rush

Comments make me happy, as do you!

