To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Never ever ever

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

toptentuesday

Sometimes I feel like I need to read all the books but truthfully there are just some books I DON’T want to read. Often I’ll get guilted into reading them and will get about 5 pages in and hate myself a little. It’s time to take a stand! There are just some books I don’t want to read and that’s okay!

Here are ten books I will never* read:

The Help – I know it was a smash hit. I know it was a popular movie. I know I’ve even started it. But honestly? I was not blown away by what I read and don’t particularly want to pick it back up again.

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo – There was probably a time in my life when I would have read this book, but the plot doesn’t even sound good to me.

I feel like I could just stop here and say “Any book that is touted as ‘the most talked about book of the year!'”

Future Shopaholic books (or any I’ve missed)– I loved the Shopaholic series and totally bought into them, but after the first 3 or so OMG so boring! It’s like the same plot that wouldn’t die.

War Books about generals or soldiers – Unless it’s about a general or a soldier who finds love while in a war, pass.

Any book certain friends recommend – You know how you have those friends who are readers, but they read things that are complete opposites of what you read, and when they talk about their books you feel like falling asleep just listening to the description? Maybe I’m shallow, but generally if these friends rec books to me, I immediately want to steer clear.

Froi of the Exiles – Part of me really wants to read this one because I love Melina Marchetta. But you know what? Years after I read Finnikin I just CAN’T get over this one scene that features Froi and I truly truly hate him for it. I don’t care how redeeming he is or whatever. That particular scene turned me off to reading his book.

Huckleberry Finn or Tom Sawyer – Look, I crushed hard on Elijah Wood just as hard as the next 90s preteen, but I have absolutely no desire to read Huckleberry Finn. I know the story, that’s enough for me. Same with Tom Sawyer.

Vampire Academy – So I think I owned the first book and started it, but it definitely did not hold my attention. I’m kind of over vampire books TBH.

Any of the other Outlander books – I really enjoyed the first one despite the fact that it took me forever and a day to get through and there were some scenes I was HIGHLY uncomfortable with. I just don’t have the time in my life to devote to a series that has fifty thousand 9 million page books.

Game of Thrones series – Ditto.

At least 60% of my TBR list – Because who am I kidding?

*Never = maybe one day I’ll give it a shot if nothing else is going on

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Never ever ever”

  1. Interesting about the friend recs. If you discover someone has polarized opposite reading tastes to yours, then they become a bellweather of sorts–find out what they’re reading and liked, so you can cross it off your list. If they hate something, you probably should pick it up immediately.

    Like

  2. Haha. I totally crushed on Elijah Wood, too! I have read Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn, though (for school, admittedly) and really liked them, though. I also won’t be read Game of Thrones or Outlander, either. It’s just not gonna happen, ever!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

