To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Bookish Quotes

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.toptentuesday

 

QUOTES!!! Man, I super love them! This will be the third time I’ve done this particular Top Ten and to be honest I could do it every week. Books are filled with the best lines, lines that speak to me and help me work out my darkest, deepest, innermost feelings. I may not have the words to express what I feel or what I think, but books help me to express these things much more eloquently than I ever could.

Here are my more of my Top Ten quotes:

Wedding Night, Sophie KinsellaYouth is still where you left it, and that’s where it should stay. Anything that was worth taking on life’s journey, you’ll already have taken with you.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Laini Taylor“Inessential penises?” Karou had repeated, delighted with the phrase in spite of her grief. “Is there any such thing as an essential one?” “When an essential one comes along, you’ll know,” [Brimstone] replied.

Nowhere But Home, Liza Palmer “Bless this food, Lord. Let it transport and remind us all of better times. Let it cleanse and purify. Let it nourish and warm. In it, let us find peace. In Jesus’ name, amen,” I say, my eyes closed and beginning to well up.

Heir of Fire, Sarah J. Maas“Because I am lost,” she whispered onto the earth. “And I do not know the way.”

Little Women, Louisa May Alcott – “Watch and pray, dear, never get tired of trying, and never think it is impossible to conquer your fault.”

The Perilous Sea, Sherry Thomas How did one fall out of love without falling apart at the same time?

Dreams of Gods and Monsters, Laini Taylor Akiva wanted to spend forever with her? It was… it was sun flares and thunderclaps inside her, but it was also like a piece of cake set aside for later. A taunt.

The Chapel Wars, Lindsey Leavitt…“but marriage… I think it has the power to be the most right thing a person can experience.”

The Winner’s Curse, Marie Rutkoski“Isn’t that what stories do, make real things fake, and fake things real?”

Seraphina, Rachel Hartman And in spite of that—or perhaps because of it—he believed me good, believed me worth taking seriously, and his belief, for one vertigi-nous moment, made me want to be better than I was.

And finally… my all-time favorite…

Monsters of Men And I kiss him. And it feels like, finally.

After reading all of these quotes together I’m a little nervous about what they are saying to me… oh bless…

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Bookish Quotes”

  1. That Seraphina quote!!! I can’t believe I didn’t think of that one, though it might be because of my recent tragic disappointment with Shadow Scale. Sigh. Also love that Little Women quote!

    Like

    1. Oh no! I haven’t read Shadow Scale yet but I really want to! I meant to read it as soon as I finished Seraphina, but didn’t pick it up. And Little Women… oh I swear I have about 5 dozen quotes highlighted in that book!

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

