Young Adult

GUYA’s Favorite Things: Zelda References

After 3 years of blogging, I’ve racked up quite a few posts. Like 600+. Lately I’ve found myself getting lost in old posts, clicking on links until I have no idea how I got so deep into my old posts. Usually by this point I’m overcome with the giggles. Which led me to this thought: I need to share my favorite posts.

I know a lot of bloggers use Twitter to share old posts, and I thought about that… but then figured it might be much more fun to share them on themed posts!

So in grand old Oprah tradition, here are The Grown-Up YA’s Favorite Things!

This time I’m focusing on my favorite Zelda references.

If I can make a Zelda reference in a review, by golly I will! I love when I come across things in books that remind me of other things, but I probably get a bit too gleeful when something reminds me of something from Zelda. I’m not embarrassed at all by how many I’ve made over the past few years!

shadow beastNight Horrors – The Dream Thieves by Maggie Steifvater

The monsters Ronan dreams about reminded me so much of those terrifying shadow beasts you have to fight in Twilight Princess. Like, honestly, I got SO SCARED while playing them!


King Dodongo – Defiance by CJ Redwine
4_KingDodongo1_Large-8x6

There’s this underground dragon monster in Defiance called the Cursed One. Whenever it came up all I could imagine was King Dodongo from Ocarina of Time. It might have made those scenes a little bit better.

Quests – The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa

zelda chickenLemme just copy what I wrote on this review: This whole book felt like a quest. Like there were lots of mini challenges along the way. I sometimes imagine books and movies as video games (tell me you don’t do this too) and this book would seriously make a good one! Like “Ohhh we’re on a quest to save the day! But first let’s gather all the chickens for the farmer! Done, back to our quest. Oh wait, if we gather all the rupees we can win a heart!” So while I didn’t actually reference a specific Zelda thing, I did mention the stupid quests you had to do in Ocarina of Time (ok, I loved them…)

Magical Items – Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodgetemple-of-time

I’ll be honest I don’t really remember what Nyx had to find in order to defeat Ignifex, but I love when characters have to collect various things. It’s like Zelda. You have to collect all the magical items from various parts of Hyrule in order to enter into the Temple of Time! Okay, that is not this story… but you get the idea. (from my review)

Tune in next time for more of my favorite things!

1 thought on “GUYA’s Favorite Things: Zelda References”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

