Young Adult

True Story Thursday: 7 Truths I Need to Remember

  1. Coffee is always, always needed on workdays.
    tumblr_mctalko
    I don’t actually ENJOY relying on coffee to help jump start my day. Most days I don’t even want to take the 2 minutes it takes to fix a cup. Getting up from my desk to go into the office kitchen to pour a cup of coffee almost takes entirely too much energy. It’s too hot for a cup of coffee. These are things I tell myself on an almost daily basis, yet if I don’t get a cup, by 9:00 I am having a hard time keeping my eyes open. I never feel more “awake” from my cup of coffee, but sometimes it’s just the little jump start I need on workdays.
  2. Just because I don’t get an ARC/egalley does not mean I cannot read a book.
    I’m sure other book bloggers can relate to this feeling. You see everyone gushing about this new book that doesn’t even come out for 3 months and it feels like that, because you didn’t get an advanced copy, you cannot read this book. Maybe it’s just me, but it’s like I forget that if I am just patient I can purchase this book for myself or check it out from the library. Books do not disappear after a set amount of time. You can, and should, read a book when it comes out, especially if you are excited about it. I don’t know why I always seem to forget this…
  3. If it’s not Baroque, don’t fix it.
    tumblr_ly19a98C3Q1qduy16o1_500
    I’m actually well aware that the word is “broke” not “Baroque;” I was trying to be funny. But you know what’s NOT funny? Thinking “Hey, let’s try this new shampoo and conditioner!” when the one you normally use works perfectly on your hair and is the first shampoo and conditioner you’ve found that actually keeps it soft and tame. I am very anti-change about so many things so I really don’t know why I fall into hype over new products when the ones I use are ones that I have spent years hunting for. I have such finicky hair and skin and have spent a lot of time and money trying to find products that don’t cause them to go ballistic. STOP WITH THE NEW PRODUCTS, CANDICE!
  4. Saying “no” does not make you a bad person.
    tumblr_mu9lvuRvSq1s7mdj8o4_500
    I love saying no to things. No, I don’t want to walk an extra mile on our daily walk. No, I don’t want to go get dinner. No, I don’t want to donate my old socks to your kids’ school project. It’s taken me a long time to learn to say no. For years I said “yes” to things when I really didn’t want to do them and felt miserable afterwards. Saying no is such a freeing thing sometimes. Recently I found myself on a planning committee that led to tons of stress and anxiety and wine. I didn’t want to be a part of it but felt as if I couldn’t quit. Then I remembered that saying no does not make me a bad person. My sanity is more important than constantly battling over whether we should go with blue or multi-colored Sharpies.
  5. Being single at 32 does not mean I am incomplete or unsuccessful at life.
    notlonely
    I’ve never had anyone except myself make me feel like because I have not found a husband that I am incomplete and unsuccessful at life. No one has ever said to me “Candice, you need to find a man. You don’t want to be single forever.” Except for me. For some reason I cannot seem to believe the truth that love comes at different times in our lives and whether it comes at 16, 22, 32, or 50, at no point in your life are you incomplete or unsuccessful. I spend so much of my time telling myself that I am all good things and making sure that I am aware of who I am and, most importantly, that I LIKE who I am, so it really surprises me that at 32 I still don’t believe that I’m complete on my own, without a husband.
    1426788429-single-girl-2
  6. Meat is delicious.
    tumblr_m0mgytbSfc1qe2ha5o1_500
    Every year I give up meat for Lent and it’s a really great experience. I won’t go into why I do it and what I feel from it, just that it’s a great experience. Typically a week or so before Easter I start CRAVING meat. Like I start thinking things like “why do you do this to yourself?” and “is this REALLY a big deal?” I’ve managed to stay pretty much on course, but Lent really makes me appreciate just how delicious meat is. The way a perfectly cooked steak tastes or how wonderful that first bite of a cheeseburger is. Excuse me while I go resentfully munch on a piece of celery.
  7. There’s really nothing better than spending time with those you love.
    tumblr_nijryycRXx1qlgbzbo2_500 tumblr_nehe0678Kl1rzotx3o10_500
    I typically hang out by myself. Most evenings consist of me and Netflix. I also never really think of myself as having groups of friends to hang out with, so when I do spend time with whatever group I belong to, I’m always so awed over just how great it is spending time with people. There are times when I have to sit back and think about just how great of a social life I now have. Maybe that sounds really conceited, but over the past several years I really had no one, so it’s STILL shocking to me that I do have people in my life. Whether it’s emailing my Selective Collective girls or meeting a couple of sorority sisters for coffee or going to a small group, it’s just so WONDERFUL to have people to talk to and get to know on deeper levels. I love friends.

 

 

4 thoughts on “True Story Thursday: 7 Truths I Need to Remember”

  1. Hi, new blog reader here!

    This was a really nice list, and I appreciate you sharing it. I can relate to quite a few of these things, and it’s always comforting to be reminded that I’m not alone.

    Like

  2. I never really drank coffee until college and I used to the same way about it. I’d always like “oh, I don’t need anything morning…” and then I wind up almost crashing before the morning is over. Trust me, lesson learned! And as you will see at BEA, coffee is a must for me to be able to even function most of the time. 😉

    Like

  3. Thank you for writing this post. I’m 24 and I love that it’s okay to be single. People always give me weird looks because I don’t have a boyfriend but you know what? Lady power! We can be single until the time is right too

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

