To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Favorites over the past 3 years

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.toptentuesday

Okay ladies at The Broke and the Bookish… challenge accepted!

Today’s Top Ten are my favorite books over the past 3 years:

Fire by Kristen Cashore – This whole series is pretty amazing but Fire is my favorite of the 3 companion books. I simply adored Fire (the character) and felt such a great connection to her. Lovely book all around!

Any of the Raven Cycle books by Maggie Steifvater – It’s really hard to pick which of these is my favorite, but these 3 books have been huge favorites of mine over the past 3 years!

Cress by Marissa Meyer – I love this whole series thus far, but Cress was my favorite, both book and character. Rapunzel has always been one of my favorite fairy tales so it was no doubt that a retelling of it would be my favorite in the series!

Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols – This was the first book by Jennifer Echols that I read and, while I had some issues with the love interest, I absolutely fell in love with this book.

Grave Mercy & Dark Triumph by Robin LeFevers¬† – Both of these!!! Hands down favorites, easily one of the best fantasy series I’ve read. I know the last one is out, but I want to reread both of these before I start it!

Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness – If you want a series with all the feels, this one. This one, this one, this one!

Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore – I talk about this book all the time and if anyone asks me for a book I’d recommend, this is typically one of the first ones I say. It’s funny, it’s spooky, it’s sexy… it’s like the whole package.

The Crown of Embers by Rae Carson – I was not a HUGE fan of GoFaT (first in this series) but was 100% sold on it with The Crown of Embers. I loved everything about it, from Elisa’s development to the religious weirdness to Hector’s sexiness… just, yowzers!

Code Name Verity & Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein – I know not everyone loves these two equally, or at all, but these are two of the best books I’ve read on the WWII era.* I loved learning more about women RAF pilots and my heart simply broke over and over again during both of them.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – What list would this be without a Rainbow book on it? While I’ve read several over the past 3 years, I think Fangirl was my favorite. Such a good story and highly imaginative with the fan-fiction element!

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Favorites over the past 3 years”

  1. Cress, Cress, Cress! She’s my favorite character and it’s my favorite book in the series too. Although Cinder in very close behind. And seriously The Raven Cycle! That’s a new love for me. I completely forgot to include Rainbow Rowell on my list this week, though, and I’m just kicking myself. Fangirl is amazing.

    Like

    1. Yay Cress! I was on the fence about reading Cinder and I know you were too; so glad we took a chance on it! LOVE the Raven Cycle series! I almost didn’t put a Rainbow Rowell book on my list because it seemed pretty obvious, but Fangirl… how could I not?!

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

