Young Adult

2015 Challenges: January Wrap-up

I truly meant to post this last week, but just didn’t get a chance to finish typing it all up. Whatever, right? Feb 2 is just as good as Jan 30. January was a BUSY month for me and, so far, February isn’t looking tons better. But I did read quite a good bit (for it being so busy) in January and managed to keep a good bit of my goals! Here’s a recap of my challenges so far:

Goodreads Challenge

I read 6 books in January, which is not that bad I must say! According to Goodreads, I was, at times, ahead of schedule and then right on schedule. Right now I’m 1 book behind schedule, I am in the middle of a couple others so that should put me back on track. I like to read several books at once, so while it may not look like I’m churning them out, I generally will finish several at once.

fof_button

LOTS of Fantasy in January! I read the whole Grisha series (Ruin and Rising was a new read; the rest were re-reads) by Leigh Bardugo and then Hero by Alethea Kontis. I’m currently reading Dearest by Kontis (which is more fairy tale retelling than true fantasy) and Seeker by Arwyn Elys Dayton (no clue WHAT genre this actually is!).

Classics Challenge

January Book: Little Women – Read!

I totally LOVED this book. Like a lot. There are probably not words to describe just how much I enjoyed it and learned from it. I’m also sure I pretty much highlighted every other sentence because there are SO many good quotes within it! I learned quite a good deal from it, not only about life but about myself, which is always a plus in my book! You can check out more thoughts and musings on it here.

Re-Read Challenge

Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm both by Leigh Bardugo. I’d forgotten just how amazing these books are! So glad that I decided to start the year off right and read these!

Smarty Pants Challenge

Seriously… I’m Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres. I got this one from one of my Secret Santas and really enjoyed it. It was cute and fun. My only “complaint” is that after a little while I got kind of tired of reading jokes. I think this would have been better read a tiny bit (like 1-2 chapters, which are very short) a night rather than whole chunks at a time.

blog_organization_button

Um… I sort of did some of this… I cleaned up my Goodreads shelves a tiny bit. Let’s be honest… I kind of bombed on meeting my goals. But, in my defense, this month has been crazy busy.

Next month on The Grown-Up YA…

READ MORE BOOKS!!!

Classics Challenge: Sense and Sensibility

Flights of Fantasy: Mortal Heart

Reread Challenge: Grave Mercy, Dark Triumph

Smarty Pants Challenge: N/A

Book Organization: Updates, Updates, Updates!

3 thoughts on “2015 Challenges: January Wrap-up”

    1. Woohoo on kicking butt! 🙂 I have a feeling I will PROBABLY exceed my goal for Flights of Fantasy, but that’s okay with me! I do love me some fantasy books. And fingers crossed February dies down a bit so I can get to some more books!

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

