Young Adult

End of the Year Survey!

2014-end-of-year-book-survey

It’s here! The End of the Year Survey! I love doing this one every year and this year’s survey proved to be just as hard as past years! Thanks to Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner for hosting this!

 

reading-stats-2014

Number Of Books You Read: 63 (almost at my reading goal of 65!)
Number of Re-Reads: 1 (Ransom by Julie Garwood)
Genre You Read The Most From: Fantasy (what else)

1. Best Book You Read In 2014?

Contemporary – The Chapel Wars by Lindsey Leavitt

Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic – Captive by Aimee Carter

Historical Fiction – A Cold Legacy by Megan Shepherd (Okay, so this probably isn’t TECHNICALLY historical fiction, but it takes place in a real historical setting, despite the Frankenstein retelling)

Paranormal — The Forever Song by Julie Kagawa

Science Fiction — Cress by Marissa Meyer

Fantasy — Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

I’m very sad to say this… but Heir of Fire. I mean, c’mon… I LOVED THE FIRST TWO BOOKS IN THIS SERIES! I really enjoyed Heir of Fire and there were some pretty fantastic moments, but overall it didn’t leave me breathless like the others. Which makes me all sorts of sad.

Oh, and Deception by C.J. Redwine. I really loved the first book in this series but honestly just found myself extremely bored with this one.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2014? 

The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet. I was expecting to LOVE this, like it was going to become my new favorite book. Sadly… it wasn’t. I think I was about 1/3 through when I got really sad that I wasn’t falling super hard for it. But then suddenly it was as if I couldn’t stop and I became way more invested in these characters than I already was. I would absolutely say this one is high on my “much love” list and was really surprised just how oddly it grew on me.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did) In 2014?

This has not been the year of pushing books I’m sad to say. I did encourage my mom to read Nowhere But Home by Liza Palmer. I may have told people “Oh, you should read this book/series” but I don’t remember any in particular.

 5. Best series you started in 2014? Best Sequel of 2014? Best Series Ender of 2014?

I’ll just answer all three questions with the Newsoul series by Jodi Meadows. I read this as part of a read-along Alexa at Alexa Loves Books hosted earlier in the year and fell in love with this series very very quickly.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2014?

I wouldn’t say she’s my FAVORITE new author, but I discovered Sara Manning this year and have really enjoyed the couple books I read from her. Thanks to Daphne from Gone Pecan, these books helped to get me out of one of my many reading slumps this year!

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

I wouldn’t necessarily say this is the “best” book, but 50 Shades of Grey was a little out of my comfort zone and it wasn’t as bad as I was expecting. I mean, it was still pretty laughably terrible, but I was surprised at how into it I got.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard. Couldn’t put this one down AT ALL. Oh! And Cress by Marissa Meyer. No sleep!

 9. Book You Read In 2014 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Hm… I can very easily see myself rereading Snow Like Ashes. And probably The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2014?

book strange and ever after  yes please book  book trial by fire

Clearly this was the year of women looking strong/fierce on book covers.

11. Most memorable character of 2014?

Probably going to say Cress. Even though it’s been months since I read Cress, I still remember just how quirky fun she was.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?

The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson. Here’s a snippet from my review: The Vanishing Season, while not much really happens by way of plot, was simply beautiful. Each character was fully developed and I felt like I was part of their lives just as much as Maggie was. I think what struck me as beautiful was this small town Maggie moves to, with its colorful cast of characters, the daily simplistic lives they lead… I’m not sure HOW this was beautiful, but it just was. 

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2014?

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling. Yeah, this one was mostly Mindy being silly, but there were several moments that made me think about things. Namely the idea that I want to date a MAN, not a boy. Not this idealized stereotype of what a man is, but one that doesn’t cause drama and knows how to fix things around the house and has chest hair and can make pancakes.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2014 to finally read? 

Outlander. Especially considering how long I’ve OWNED a copy! I don’t know if I’ll actually read any of the other books; Outlander took me long enough as it was and there’s like a million books in this series. But I honestly really enjoyed it! Oh! Also, Austenland. Like Outlander, I’ve owned a copy for years but haven’t picked it up. Very glad I did!

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2014?

It would just be easier if you checked out my tumblr: http://grownupya.tumblr.com/

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

I’m just going to guess here. Longest: Outlander Shortest: Roar & Liv (novella)

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

We Were Liars by e. lockhart. So, look… I know EVERYbody else saw that twist coming but I did not. Like holy heck you guys that twist took me for a complete spin!

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Oh, geez… I don’t know. I mean, I don’t really get into this stuff to be honest.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Celeana Sardothian and Rowan. I want this to be romantic but I have no idea if it’s supposed to be or not so I’m going to say it’s non-romantic and was flipping fantastic. The way these two sparred and fought and hated and respected was just phenomenal.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2014 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

There were several sequels I read this past year, but I don’t think that’s fair to use those to answer this one. I’m going to go with The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White. I’ve been wanting to read this one forever and am very glad I finally did! It was very cute and funny like Paranormalcy, which I really enjoyed.

21. Best Book You Read In 2014 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

I guess I’m going to say Nowhere But Home by Liza Palmer. Cassie at Books with Cass gushed about it so much that I wanted to read it like whoa. Definitely glad I did!

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?

Theron from Snow Like Ashes. Hello there.

23. Best 2014 debut you read?

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch. This was unbelievably good and I was really into it. While the beginning is slightly slower, everything else? Wham! Bam! Pow! Perfect.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Maybe The Winner’s Curse? I didn’t do a ton of fantasy reading this year, so there’s not a lot of worldbuilding to talk of. Vivid settings though? I really enjoyed the setting in We Were Liars, but that’s mostly because I just love the northeastern beach area. I’ve never been, but it’s a dream vacation for sure!

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

The Chapel Wars by Lindsey Leavitt. It was just a fun, silly little book that made me smile. And the love interest was from Alabama AND wanted to go to UA. I totally crushed on him!

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2014?

Yes Please by Amy Poehler. I know that she’s a funny lady, but man oh man… there were some moments where I just could not handle it. Like the chapter on Parks & Rec? Totally put it down and had to walk away after reading like 2 sentences from it.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

The Girl Who Never Was and The Boy With the Hidden Name, both by Skylar Dorset. Even though I never looked, I didn’t see any reviews for these books nor much tweeting going on. They were actually both really cute and fun books with a darker, more serious side. I enjoyed them!

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

Strange and Ever After by Susan Dennard. <shakes fist in the air> Damn you soul crushing book!

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2014?

The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Meadows. It was just weird but good.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Okay, I didn’t read many anger provoking books this year, but there was a scene in Tear You Apart by Sara Cross that made me see red for a moment. I won’t tell you what it is, but it involves the MC and one of her love interests. Like how am I supposed to still consider this guy? DO YOU KNOW WHAT HE DID?! Oh! And Nine Uses for an Ex Boyfriend by Sara Manning. Guys! ALLLLLL the rage at this book! The MC ugh what is she thinking!

book-blogging

 

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2014? 

I wouldn’t say I discovered this blog because I might have sort of followed her last year, but Starlight Book Reviews is one of my new favorites (as is the blogger behind the blog, Terri! Hi friend!).

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2014? 

It’s totally silly but my review of Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi was pretty darn fun to write. Mostly because it was all gifs!

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

This is by far NOT the “best” post I had, but it still makes me giggle: my commentary on the Scottish vote for independence.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I did nothing this year! Oh wait, I was a group leader or something for Armchair BEA. That was sorta fun for like a hot minute and then I kept forgetting I was supposed to do stuff. Whoops!

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2014?

Getting my groove back. This past year has been a nightmare for me and blogging, so much so that I was going to call it quits. But sometime around mid-November I remembered just how much I love my blog and all the things I enjoyed doing with it and it was like the excitement light switch turned on!

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

I can’t figure out how to see which posts had the most comments this year, but my most popular post was my commentary on the Scottish vote for independence with a whopping 991 views. I have no idea what this means as there were no comments, but I kind of like that there were so many views on this silly post!

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Um, all of them?

9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

I don’t think I really discovered anything this year. I utilized my Kindle app on my phone way more than normal and checked out more ebooks from the library. I feel like the more technology stuff I discover the less helpful it all is.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Two books shy of meeting my Goodreads challenge! I’m halfway finished with both of those books though, so hooray meeting goals! I honestly don’t remember (or care to look at) what goals I set for myself for the year. I have no desire to be disappointed by not meeting them!

 

looking-ahead-books-2015

 

 

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2014 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2015?

There are sooooo many. Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo, Mortal Heart by Robin LeFevers to name a couple.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2015 (non-debut)?

Winter by Marissa Meyer. Duh. As is everyone and their brother.

3. 2015 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

I’ve never really been someone who knows what’s a debut book. So I don’t know?

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2015?

Again, Winter by Marissa Meyer. Duh.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2015?

One thing? Geez… um… Actually do it?

6. A 2015 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

I’ve only read a couple 2015 releases, but I’ve recommended Tear You Apart by Sara Cross to a few people. And then A Cold Legacy by Megan Shepherd was phenomenal, but it’s the final book in a series so I don’t feel like I should/need to recommend it.

 

 

3 thoughts on “End of the Year Survey!”

  1. Cress is such an amazing character. I just loved her too. And yay for re-reading Julie Garwood. Her books are soo good as re-reads. I should reread some more of hers in 2015.

    Like

    1. JG’s books are SO good! I’m pretty sure there was a time in my life when I read her books non-stop. Didn’t matter I’d already read them a dozen times! Her historical novels were very good and still some of my favorites!

      Like

  2. Woohoo! So glad to see Liza Palmer and Sarra Manning make the list, as I really enjoy their books. Haven’t read Nine Uses for an Ex-Boyfriend, though I kind of want to because I’ve seen seriously mixed reactions to it and I’m curious to know what my reaction would be. Also, Mortal Heart is sitting at home for me to read next-ish. Must do it!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

