Young Adult

GUYA’s Favorite Things: Post Titles

After 3 years of blogging, I’ve racked up quite a few posts. Like 600+. Lately I’ve found myself getting lost in old posts, clicking on links until I have no idea how I got so deep into my old posts. Usually by this point I’m overcome with the giggles. Which led me to this thought: I need to share my favorite posts.

I know a lot of bloggers use Twitter to share old posts, and I thought about that… but then figured it might be much more fun to share them on themed posts!

So in grand old Oprah tradition, here are The Grown-Up YA’s Favorite Things!

This time I’m focusing on my favorite post titles.

In case you’re new to my blog, or just need me to explain what the heck I’m talking about today, for the vast majority of my book reviews I try to give the post a fun title that sort of “goes along” with whatever book I’m reviewing. Sometimes it’s a song lyric that the book reminds me of, or sometimes I make a funny joke or use a humorous quote. I never purposefully started doing it as a “thing” but over the years I’ve had several comments from people on how they love my post titles. Here are some of my favorites!

Dollhouse-tv-17“Would you like a treatment?” – Review: Starters by Lissa Price

This is one of my favorite review titles because I felt like it was absolutely perfect for Starters. If you’re not familiar with the phrase, it’s from the show Dollhouse. Did anyone watch it when it came on? It only lasted 2 seasons, but was SO interesting! You should watch it AND check out my review of Starters.

“It’s telly-time! Passions is on!” – Review: Passion by Lauren Katetumblr_n4p3wvZ8t11sgfksio6_250

I might have actually “borrowed” this post title from Forever YA’s review of this same book. After I had seen it I honestly could not think of anything else to use! This line is said by Spike in Buffy the Vampire Slayer and it’s actually hilarious when you put it into context. Spike is tied up after being captured by Buffy and is basically being an annoying house guest to Giles. He apparently has a thing for the soap opera Passions and gets excited about it when it comes on, but Giles is slow to turn on the TV. The line really has nothing to do with the book other than it says the word “passion” haha.

“UBMMXKUENX” – Bitterblue by Kristen Cashore

I felt so clever coming up with this title! If you haven’t read this series, get the f out. No, kidding. But I do recommend this series. In Bitterblue, the mc (Bitterblue) has a thing for cracking codes. If you use the decoder thing in the book, that gobbledygook reads “Bitterblue.”

“Crimey, we’re jimmy-jacked!” – Review: The Diviners by Libba Brayamelia earhart

With the book taking place in the 20s, I knew I needed a cracker jack title that captured the pep of the era. This lovely line is actually from Night at the Museum 2 and Amy Adams, who plays Amelia Earhart, says this line. It always makes me giggle whenever I watch the movie.

“Fifty Shades of YA” – The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle

This book… Oh man this book. Filled with the most awkward, cringe-worthy sex scenes. And the obsession. I mean, I liked this book okay. I actually read it in one sitting which surprised me. But when I was getting ready to write the review… well, how could I NOT use this!

Tune in next time for more of my favorite things!

2 thoughts on “GUYA’s Favorite Things: Post Titles”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

