Young Adult

2015 Challenges… possibly?

It’s that time of year again when we’re all starting to look at different challenges to participate in for next year and I am no exception to this. Although I sort of have a love-hate relationship with challenges; I hate to fail at them and also feel like they’re sometimes too much work but I love challenging myself. I feel like in past years I’ve overextended myself with challenges and ended up quitting very early into them. Do you have this problem or is it just me?

This year (2014) I limited myself to the Goodreads’ reading challenge – something I’d never participated in before – and set my goal pretty low compared to others’. 65 books and for a while I was worried I won’t be able to complete that one. I have 9 books to go. However, I am currently reading 4, sooo…. I may complete this challenge yet!

I feel like a broken record in saying this, but I feel like this is the first time in a very, very long time that I’ve actually had more free time than I know what to do with. I promise I’m not bragging about this. So I feel like maybe I should do more to fill up that time so I don’t get stagnant. Even though I like free time I get bored extremely quickly so I’m thinking that this upcoming year should be a year I fill that boredom with some challenges.

barney+stinson

While it’s still a little early to be declaring my challenges and throwing down some gauntlets, I thought I’d post about some I’m considering and chat with you about ones you’re taking on.

Re-Read Challenge (hosted by So Obsessed With and Belle of the Literati)

I’m sure I’m not alone when I say I never re-read books but always want to. There are SO MANY great titles that I’d love to dive into again but have put it off because there are SO MANY newer titles that I feel like I have to read. I’m like 85% sure I’m going to do this challenge and have gone so far as to create a list of books I want to read again on Goodreads.

Classics Challenge (my own… if you know someone who is hosting something similar let me know!)

I tried doing this one a couple years ago and failed pretty miserably. But I really really want to challenge myself to read more classics! Here’s how it works: Each month you read a classic. That’s it. Last time I tried doing this I scheduled the classics I wanted to read and tried to match them to certain months. For example: Dracula in October, A Christmas Carol in December, Pride and Prejudice in June, etc. I’m definitely doing this one and you can check out my list of classics here.

Smarty Pants Challenge (again, my own, but if you know someone who is hosting something similar let me know!)

I have a Goodreads’ list called Smarty Pants and it’s basically non-fiction books. Memoirs, biographies, how-to books, historical, political, society, etc. I’ve barely made a teeny tiny dent in this list, despite me constantly adding books to it. I really want to try to tackle some of these books this year! You can check out my Smarty Pants books here.  Since some of the books on this list are a little more serious in subject, I want to limit myself to no more than 6-7 for the year. Sometimes I think with non-fiction less is definitely more!

Book Blogger Organization Challenge (hosted by The Book Addict’s Guide)

Brittany posted about this one earlier today and it had me kind of intrigued… My blog could use a good organizing! After reading what’s what on her post, it seems pretty straightforward with each month being dedicated to different types of organizing. She’s really organized in how she’s organized this organized challenge to get your blog organized! I’m still on the fence with this one because while it’s not a reading challenge, it makes me a little nervous that I might fail! Although some organizing is better than none, amirite?

Goodreads’ Reading Challenge

This year I only did 65 books for my challenge and that felt pretty challenging. Granted, Gilmore Girls being on Netflix did NOT do this challenge any favors. Hell, Netflix in general did it no favors. I’m confident I can meet this goal by the end of the year though, so I think I’m gonna up my challenge next year to 85. This will include my re-reads though, so two challenges with one stone. Hey-o!

What challenges are you participating in? Are you doing any of these hosted by our fellow bloggers? Anyone wanna join me on the Classics and Smarty Pants Challenges?

7 thoughts on “2015 Challenges… possibly?”

  1. Yayyyyy come join me! Honestly, you cannot fail! You do one thing, YOU SUCCEED! The guidelines are just there as a reminder of things you can work on during the month. You don’t have to do all of them and you don’t even have to do every month! I’m the kind of person who needs things written down and a little bit of motivation to really keep on those challenges so that’s why it’s there 😀
    Hope you join in! Your other challenges look like a lot of fun too! I’m definitely doing the re-read one too.

    Like

    1. I will probably do that one because yeah… I need to do some deeper cleaning on the blog. Like you said in your post, I like the Bloggiestas that happen periodically through the year, but that’s like so much in so little time that I typically end up not accomplishing much. I like that this one is over a period of 6 months and broken down. 🙂

      Like

  2. I also limited myself to the Goodreads Challenge in 2014 but I’m also looking at the Re-Read Challenge because I love rereading as much or more than “regular” reading so why not? And I just saw about the Book Blogger Organization Challenge earlier this morning and it has my name all over it. THE ONLY RESERVATION I have with these challenges in the past is that I always forget to link up to challenges, even ones that I have LOVED (like audiobook, etc) and I feel SO DUMB because to me, that equals FAILURE. So that’s why I didn’t do anything but the Goodreads because it’s basically staring you in the face. So I don’t know!!! I’m kind of nervous! I love that you’re considering these though! Maybe I’ll do it. YIKES, I need to decide.

    Like

    1. Haha, I get what you mean. I think I’m good for a couple months then challenges start to fall by the wayside because I forget to keep up with them. Maybe we should challenge ourselves to keep up with our challenges! 🙂 We’ll have to be each others’ cheerleaders in 2015 so we’ll “win” the challenges we’re participating in!

      Like

  3. I’ll do the GoodReads challenge as always, but one of my blogging goals for the year was to relax more. I’m going to do a lot of rereading (not in challenge form, although it does sound very relaxed) and have made a list of titles that have been beating on the door of my brain like REREAD ME REREAD ME I WAS AWESOME COME BACK TO MEEEE, so to help that go well, I’ll be cutting my GoodReads challenge in half so my rereading can be “guilt free.” I love the sound of the Smarty Pants challenge! I’m trying to read more non-fiction and stuff that will help me learn more about topics of interest, like the music industry and technology and space exploration.

    Like

    1. Amen to relaxing with the blog! I think that’s what has me hesitant to take on challenges. I don’t want to do too much and make it feel like all these obligations. I am planning on counting my rereads towards my Goodreads’ challenge though. 🙂 If I come across any good non-fiction, I’ll pass them along to you. Hope you’ll do the same for me! I’m always up for a good book on a topic of interest!

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

