Fantasy, Young Adult

Heir of Fire

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

heir of fire book

The Skinny: Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love? – From Goodreads

BFF?: I’ve actually already gushed enough about Celeana in my review of Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight. Seriously love this girl! I wanted to talk about another character that I started liking. Manon Blackbeak. She is one of the Iron Teeth witches and part of the Blackbeak clan. She’s actually heir to the… throne? Leader? I don’t know, but she’s important in her clan. At first I wasn’t too thrilled to see this character because I thought she was going to be really tough to get behind. But I don’t know… she slowly grew on me as I got to know her. Like I felt for her at times, wanted to cheer for her at others, all while being extremely terrified of her.

Readability: So okay, I have always loved these books and how they read, and I will continue to do so, but this one… well, it just didn’t hit home with me like the other two did. Whhhhyyyyy?! I wanted to love it and there were parts I loved, but I dunno. Maybe because the focus shifted from Celeana and there were just too many stories going on. However, other than that, I was really into the book as usual.

Crush Level: 7
Okay so Dorian and Chaol, awesome. Still dreamy. Whatever. Rowan y’all… Rowan is where it’s at. I know that overall he seems like a sadistic little so and so, hellbent on crushing the arrogance out of Celeana, but guys… I found him totally dreamy. I hope that doesn’t say something terrible about me. But anyway, I really liked getting to know this new character. I don’t know if I like him as a love interest for Celeana, or if that’s even an option, but I just found him to be incredibly interesting and that there was so much depth to him. It sort of surprised me that he ended up being such a big part of this book for me.

Training
training montage
I don’t know why I like training montages so much, but I do. Celeana’s training was completely brutal and a little terrifying, but still really cool to see. I mean, we all get that she’s this total badass, but then having her in this situation where she’s weak and powerless? Gave me a whole new perspective of her!

How to train your dragon
toothless
The “dragons” in this book were actually wyverns, which I think are kinda like dragons but they have hands? I don’t know. Regardless, I loved the one in this book! It reminded me of Toothless!

Commencement Speech: I feel like I’m in the minority here by saying this… but this one wasn’t a 100% winner for me. Yeah, there were moments of heartbreak/ache, excitement, fear, happiness, sadness… but overall I felt like there were too many side stories going on. And I guess sometimes when you have these epic series that are more than 3 books long, you kind of have to add in new story lines and characters. I imagine if it was JUST Celeana’s adventures it would get kind of tiring. One of the story lines that I thought I’d probably hate but ended up really liking was that of the witches. I don’t know when they exactly grew on me, but wow. It was totally powerful and complicated!

I just really hate hate hate that this one wasn’t as awesome for me as the others have been. I don’t know if maybe I was in a weird place when I read it… but I just didn’t absorb it like I did the other two books in the series. Not to say that I didn’t really enjoy it, it just wasn’t as much of a winner for me. However, I’m really anticipating the next one in the series!

Yearbook Quote: “Because I am lost,” she whispered onto the earth. “And I do not know the way.”

Like this post? You may like these too:

winners curse siege and storm crown of midnight

Comments make me happy, as do you!

