To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Underrated Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

I haven’t done one of these in a looooonnnnngggg time!

I feel like we all fangirl over the same books and that we all tend to gravitate towards the same books so it’s sometimes hard to have time to pick up ones that don’t get quite as much love. Of course, when you do pick up that sort of unloved book and it’s fantastic, it’s hard to understand why more people don’t read it.

Here are my Top Ten Six books that I think need a little more love:

The Caged Graves – I LOVED this book! It was a great mix of historical fiction and suspense. The story was great and I never found myself bored. I think everyone I know who has read this has agreed that this book needs some more love!

The Kiss of Deception – I really don’t know if this one is underrated or if I just haven’t seen much discussion about it. I was a little hesitant at first but that quickly went away when I was swept into this amazingly lush new world and wrapped up in the story, the action, the romance… was such a good one, especially if you like fantasy like I do!

House of Ivy and Sorrow – This is another one I’m not quite sure if many read or chatted about, but I found it to be kind of a hidden gem. Was a very twisting story with lots of cringe-worthy moments but overall one that I wish more people read so I could talk to them about it!

Perfect Ruin – I know we all loved Wither, but I don’t remember too many reading (or loving) Perfect Ruin. It was kind of different from the Wither series, which I liked, but still had some similarities as far as its tone. I do recommend this one!

Pawn – Do yourself a favor and read this one. If you read Carter’s Goddess Test series, whether you loved it or hated it this book is nothing like it. It’s pretty awesome.

The Testing – “I honestly don’t care that this book is basically The Hunger Games long lost twin sibling.” I don’t know of many people who read this book, but I absolutely loved it. While yes, it was very similar to The Hunger Games, I found it to be unique enough that it kept me on the edge of my seat.

I’m sure there are other books that are underrated, these are ones that stick out to me.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Underrated Books”

  1. Pawn was good, I have not read the goddess test but I am looking forward to it. I actually just finished the testing, I agree it is quite like Hunger Games but it is really good. Looking forward to the next one.

    Like

  2. I have to admit that I haven’t even read the blurb of The Testing until now because I really really hate that cover. How sorry I am for that, it sounds soo amazing amazing.
    I can’t wait to read The Kiss of Deception, I have read another book from the author and it was SO GOOD. And aww just how much I want to read any book from Lauren DeStefano!
    Great list!
    Here’s mine: http://reading-is-dreaming-with-open-eyes.blogspot.hu/2014/09/top-ten-underrated-books.html

    Like

  3. I loved Perfect Ruin and Pawn, and yeah, I don’t know why they aren’t much bigger books. I have all the rest of these books except for one but haven’t gotten to them yet. The one I don’t have yet is The Testing. I’ve actually seen a lot more people talking about it lately (all good things). I’m definitely more intrigued by it now. Great list!

    Michelle @ Michelle’s Minions

    My TTT

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

