Young Adult

Thinking out loud here

The other night I was thinking about some things and my thoughts led to blogging. Let’s be honest… this blog is a ghost town. I feel like it’s started to become the Gretchen Weiner of blogs and I really should just stop trying to make it work.

fetch 2

But for some reason I just can’t let go. While I don’t ever feel the need anymore to blog all the time, I feel like I can’t just say “Okay, I’m done.” As you may know, a while back I said I was going to stop this blog altogether in November. And a couple months ago when I made that decision it felt right. It felt like I have lots of time left to wrap this thing up. Now though… it feels like that end date is coming up super quick and I don’t know if I’m quite ready to say goodbye.

However, I don’t want to let go! Ugh, so many feelings…

It also is not helping that just about every day I get 1-2 new people following my blog. I want to tell them NO! DON’T FOLLOW ME! You’ll just be disappointed in me.

And holy heck I feel like that statement was an epiphany… Maybe what I’m feeling is fear of disappointing people. No, I don’t think that may people are paying attention to me and my blog right now, but there are some who still are.

Ugh, feelings!

Part of me wants to throw myself into my blog, write all the reviews and posts and discussions, comment on friends’ blogs, chat with them on Twitter, do all the things I used to do and love. Like I MISS it! But another part of me feels like I should just throw in the towel and move on. Because I feel like if I do that then I’ll get into it again and then won’t “stop” this blog in November like I’d planned and then will just have to deal with fizzling out later. Which I don’t want to happen.

I know I should take this one day at a time, constantly evaluate how I feel about the blog, maybe make a pro/con list… but all I want to do these days is watch Doctor Who on Netflix and not read. Maybe I could blog about that?!

Honestly, I don’t know why I’m writing this post other than to just get these feelings (ugh) out. I talk too much and need to do something, but feel like this space is a safe zone where I can share my thoughts.

We’ll see what happens…

7 thoughts on “Thinking out loud here”

  1. Blog about Doctor Who. Blog about maybe blogging about Doctor Who. Blog about nothing! We’ll still read.. and reply 😀

    Whatever makes you happy! And besides, it’s not like it’s going to worry anyone if you drop off the radar for a little while. It’ll just make it all the more exciting when the radar goes BLIP! I’M BAAACK! xD

    Like

    1. Haha… I really probably will blog about Doctor Who at some point! 🙂

      And thanks for the sweet comment… I sometimes get so bogged down by worrying about this blog that I forget to have fun with it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I Think you should do as your heart desires 😀
    If you feel like blogging about Cats, do it.
    If you don’t feel like reading don’t read. And if some day you do want to blog about books or do a review on Doctor Who , also do it.
    At the end of the day, is what makes you feel good that matters, not followers or comments. ❤
    PS; I really do like your blog!

    Like

  3. Personally, I’ve always been of the opinion that your blog is under your control. Whether you post or not, what you choose to post or not, and all those other day-to-day decisions – that’s entirely up to you! Though it’s hard to remember sometimes, I personally think it’s best to blog because you love it and enjoy it, and not because you feel an obligation too. Perhaps you do want to stick around and post now and then, perhaps not! Whatever you decide, I’m sure you’ll have chosen after a great deal of thought and you’ll definitely have my support 🙂

    Like

  4. I say go with whatever you want to do. Followers will deal with sporadic posting or they’ll figure out where you’re still interacting if they’re interested. They’ll find your new blogs or they’ll find you on Twitter, and if they don’t want to do that stuff, they probably weren’t going to read and comment much anyway.

    Basically, if Netflix floats your boat today, go for it! Blogging out of a sense of obligation sucks. It’s not fun. If you stay, make sure you’re having fun. 🙂

    Like

    1. 🙂

      I do love that there are other outlets to keep in touch with people! Even if I stop blogging I need to utilize those more! I do feel like over the past couple weeks I’ve gotten more back into reading instead of watching Netflix for hours. Hopefully I’ll get bored with it soon and will want to write some on the blog!

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

