Retro Reads, Young Adult

Retro Reads by YOU! Alexa from Alexa Loves Books

Welcome to my newest feature, Retro Reads by YOU!

retro reads by you

Today I have one of my favorite bloggers, Alexa from Alexa Loves Books, on the blog talking about some of her favorite retro reads!

Tell us about you and your blog.

I’m 24, a voracious reader, currently living/working/playing in New York City. I’ve loved to read since I was a little girl, and consequentially, I’ve loved writing since I realized I had stories to share in my head.

What Retro Reads books take you back to your childhood or young adult days? Tell us about what made those books so special to you.

I read a lot of Nancy Drew mysteries (especially the yellow hardcovers) back in the day, so I will always have a soft spot for them. Also, I was obsessed with Sweet Valley (from Kids to University) when I was in high school. And, of course, I loved the Harry Potter series and The Chronicles of Narnia to pieces! I was also really drawn into the Little House series at a young age! And then I had specific books I really loved: The Secret Garden, A Little Princess, Anne of Green Gables, Matilda, The BFG.

Have your reading preferences changed since you were younger? If so, tell us about how they have.

I read a lot more contemporary novels, and romances, these days! I used to read mysteries way more, but only the Nancy Drew kind; I’m still not overly fond of them. One thing that has managed to remain constant is my love of fantasy novels!

You visit your school’s book fair and have $5 to spend (hey, that was a lot way back in the day). What would you buy?

I’d probably buy classics, like books from Beverly Cleary! Or perhaps titles like The Secret Garden or A Little Princess or Anne of Green Gables.

List 2-3 books that you hope young adults today will talk about in the future as their favorite retro reads.

I would like them to talk about Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, Golden by Jessi Kirby & Incarnate by Jodi Meadows. All three are among my favorites, for sure.

Thanks so much Alexa for sharing your favorite retro reads with us!

Want to join in the fun and share your own retro reads with us? It’s easy! Just fill out the below Google form and I’ll be in touch!

Comments make me happy, as do you!

