Retro Reads, Young Adult

Retro Reads by YOU! Allison from The Cheap Reader

Welcome to my newest feature, Retro Reads by YOU!

retro reads by you

Today I have one of my favorite bloggers, Allison from The Cheap Reader, on the blog talking about some of her favorite retro reads!

Tell us about you and your blog.

I’m Alison and a bit of a reading addict. The Cheap Reader is basically my reading journal where I talk about all things bookish. I post reviews, other features, and talk about working in a library.

What Retro Reads books take you back to your childhood or young adult days? Tell us about what made those books so special to you.

R. L. Stine’s Goosebumps and Fear Street books! Man, I read so many of them. I have a pretty distinct memory of being in my middle school library and realizing I had read ALL the Fear Street books they owned. I was bummed that I had to find something new to read.

I’m not sure what made the books so appealing to me. I think I just liked being a bit scared but not actually terrified. Plus it drove my mom nuts that I read so many of *those* books.

Have your reading preferences changed since you were younger? If so, tell us about how they have.

I think they have. Back when I was younger, I didn’t realize there were SO many books out there. I’d find a series I liked and then work my way through the series.

Now I’m more diverse with my reading (or at least I try to be). YA and MG Fantasy/Sci-fi are definitely my default books but I make sure to pick up historical fiction, contemporary fiction, and other types of books as well.

You visit your school’s book fair and have $5 to spend (hey, that was a lot way back in the day). What would you buy?

Probably a Dear America or Royal Diary book. It was always fun to look at history through the eyes of someone my age.

List 2-3 books that you hope young adults today will talk about in the future as their favorite retro reads.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling (It blows my mind that one day those will be considered ‘classic’ books)
(I KNOW!!!!!!)

Thanks so much Lucy for sharing your favorite retro reads with us!

Want to join in the fun and share your own retro reads with us? It’s easy! Just fill out the below Google form and I’ll be in touch!

1 thought on “Retro Reads by YOU! Allison from The Cheap Reader”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

