Retro Reads, Young Adult

Retro Reads by YOU! Cristina from Girl in the Pages

Welcome to my newest feature, Retro Reads by YOU!

retro reads by you

Today I have Cristina from Girl in the Pages on the blog talking about some of her favorite retro reads!

Tell us about you and your blog.

I started book blogging about a year ago to share my love of books and to find others who share my passion! I focus a lot on fantasy/dystopian/contemporary YA, but I also read and review other genres occasionally. My blog also chronicles my journey as an English major and post-grad life.

What Retro Reads books take you back to your childhood or young adult days? Tell us about what made those books so special to you.

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot! It was my first ever YA series (I started reading it in about fourth grade and followed it beyond) and it really resonated with me. It’s unfiltered at some parts and has tons of pop culture references, but it exposed me to things like feminism and activism at a young age. I also appreciate how honest of a narrator Mia is, and how she doesn’t censor her emotions or her thoughts- it’s one of the few journal/diary types books that I’ve read that doesn’t limit the reader to one single perspective, as it makes the reader feel like they’re in the moment rather than reading a filtered account. Mia was also rateable- not super popular, not super dorky, just an average girl with greatness thrust upon her!

 

Have your reading preferences changed since you were younger? If so, tell us about how they have.

I enjoy fantasy much more than I did when I was younger (I used to really like mysteries), and I appreciate and lean toward books with female protagonists with a strong sense of agency and empowerment. I also enjoy male protagonists and perspectives more now, as they’re definitely a minority in YA. As I’ve grown older I also can’t overlook a book that doesn’t have strong plot elements besides just romance. I also tend to analyze and be critical of what I’m reading, even if it’s just for fun- a residual product of being an English major!

You visit your school’s book fair and have $5 to spend (hey, that was a lot way back in the day). What would you buy?

In elementary school, probably a Mary Kate and Ashley mystery or a Babysitter’s Club book. In middle school probably a Sarah Dessen novel.

List 2-3 books that you hope young adults today will talk about in the future as their favorite retro reads.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Thanks so much Cristina for sharing your favorite retro reads with us!

Want to join in the fun and share your own retro reads with us? It’s easy! Just fill out the below Google form and I’ll be in touch!

1 thought on “Retro Reads by YOU! Cristina from Girl in the Pages”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

