Young Adult

Armchair BEA: Introductions and Literature

Describe your blog in just one sentence. Then, list your social details — Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, etc. — so we can connect more online.

My blog is awesome and you should totally follow me so we can be friends and it will be awesome because you are awesome hello and thank you for stopping by.

That sentence totally counts and I don’t care if it’s a horrible run-on sentence. I am not a grammar snob. πŸ™‚

Here’s my contact deets:

bluetwitter@grownupya – I am ALWAYS on here, even if I’m Twitter-silent sometimes. Feel free to tweet me whenever; love chatting on there!

coraltwitterThe Grown-Up YA Yearbook Quotes – An expansion of one of my review features. Still fairly new to Tumblr, but I’m enjoying it!

blueemailEmail me! I love getting emails! Unless you’re spam. Don’t spam me.

Share your favorite book or reading related quote.

β€œ. . . for when women are the advisers, the lords of creation don’t take the advice till they have persuaded themselves that it is just what they intended to do. Then they act upon it, and, if it succeeds, they give the weaker vessel half the credit of it. If it fails, they generously give her the whole.”- Little Women

What book would you love to see as a movie?

This may be stretching, but I REALLY want to see A Horse and His Boy made into a movie. It’s my favorite of the Narnia series and feel like it would be such a great on-screen experience. I think the Middle Eastern/Northern Africa inspired Calormen would be dazzling, the story of a long lost prince captivating, AND we’d get to see cast favorites from previous movies. AND THEY’D BE THE RIGHT AGE! Honestly, I think if Hollywood is going to make another Narnia movie, they should skip The Silver Chair because really that one sucks and go straight to The Horse and His Boy.

What does your favorite/ideal reading space look like? (Pinterest encouraged!)

I have a comfy chair with a lamp. It’s really nothing special but it’s a good place to curl my feet up and get into a good book. I also read on my bed. Typically both places have at least 3-4 books on or next to them, either ones I’m reading or have discarded!

What was your favorite book read last year? What’s your favorite book so far this year?

Seriously, how can you pick a favorite book?

Last year I think my favorite was Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein. This year… er… I’m gonna go with either Cress by Marissa Meyer or Incarnate by Jodi Meadows.

Lit Talk

So I know “literature” is really just reading material and can cover a plethora of things, from plays to novels to poetry. But it’s funny how when I think of literature my first thought is “uggggghhhhhh I don’t want to!” Why is this though? I mean, I’ve always been an avid reader. Since I was a baby there have been books in my life. So why does literature scare me so much?

I could probably blame high school. We were forced to read so many books that I just didn’t care about. Not only were they difficult but then we had to analyze them over and over and over again. But I don’t like blaming high school for this fear. Yeah, the books were difficult, but there were always movie versions of the books. Even though I might not have been able to understand the book I loved the movie. Especially if Colin Firth was in it.

Today I think teens are a lot luckier than I was as a teen. There are SO many different ways for them to get exposed to classic literature in fun, inventive ways. Not only are there so many retellings of classic novels, but now there are even YouTube series retelling some of our most beloved classic novels. I’ve really gotten behind this and feel like it’s a brand new way to experience some of my favorite stories. Here are some examples:

Pride and Prejudice – The Lizzie Bennett Diaries

lbd

Jane Eyre – The Autobiography of Jane Eyre

jane eyre

Emma – Emma Approved

Emma-Approved-image-emma-approved-36270569-500-254

Sanditon – Welcome to Sanditon

sanditon

Edgar Allen Poe – A Tell Tale Vlog

tell tale vlog

Peter Pan – The New Adventures of Peter and Wendy

wendy

Any others you’ve seen? Any of these that you’ve seen? Let me know! I’m always up for chatting about these!

 

8 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Introductions and Literature”

  1. I think you are so right that high school is almost designed to make people hate reading. Nothing like having everyone read the same book and perhaps JOURNAL about it to turn the best of books into tedium! I vastly prefer it when there is choice involved in what students are reading. At least you are able to find things you like now! Have fun with Armchair BEA.

    Like

  2. Hi, Candice! I’m also a big fan of Elizabeth Wein and Marissa Meyer.

    I didn’t know about You Tube series that retell classic novels — they look fun!

    Have a great week with Armchair BEA!

    Like

  3. So cool to see your little YouTube-ized books! I had no idea these existed.

    You are right….Your blog is awesome! Glad to have met you here! Enjoy Armchair BEA.

    Like

  4. Augh I JUST saw an article talking about Peter and Wendy and watched it all yesterday. SO CUTE! I’ll admit at first that Wendy’s voice was crazy annoying. So high-pitched, so cutesy for a woman of 27. (I still don’t like it but the overall story and characters are fun.)

    Also, Michael. Oh Michael.

    Cat hair and tears! *dies laughing*

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

