Young Adult

True Story Thursday: Redecorating

I’ve been in my house 2 years now and renewed my lease for a 3rd. High time I start decorating, right?

Not to say my house isn’t decorated. It’s just boring. Same things I’ve had on my walls in every place I’ve lived for the past 8 years. Nothing really “matches” and there’s no style to it. So I decided that May was going to be the month I redid my living room. June I’m devoting to my dining room and bedroom. July my kitchen. I’m really excited about this plan. diy fail

I have started becoming a DIY-er and spend hours looking at DIY blogs, trying to get ideas and how-tos. Most times doing this gets a little depressing because I feel my house is so inadequate compared to the ones on the blogs, but for the most part I’ve gotten some great ideas. I’ve actually put a few to use in my living room and about half of them have turned out spectacularly!

Mother’s Day weekend I bought a new sofa (pictures to come) so that was kind of the catalyst for redoing my living room. My parents brought it to me over this past weekend – I had bought it while I was at their house for the weekend – and it looks great in my living room. It’s also super comfy. I’ve already slept on it. 🙂

Of course, it made me realize that nothing in my living room matches it… more DIY to the rescue!

I’ll be posting pictures of all my decorating next Thursday; I’m excited to show it all to you!

Speaking of redecorating, on Sunday I started that Advocare 24 Day Cleanse program. It’s…. interesting. But I feel like it’s been the push I needed to start eating healthier (seriously, the past couple weeks I’ve eaten soooo unhealthy) and go to the gym every day. The only downside has been that you’re not supposed to drink coffee on it. I don’t actually need coffee to wake up, but I sure do miss it. Oh, and you have to drink tons of water (or just the normal amount) which has been fine, except that I have to (and I’m sorry this is TMI) pee every hour. Haven’t gotten a very good night’s sleep the past few nights. Hopefully my body will adjust!

It’s probably fate, but one of my SC girls emailed all of us asking if anyone wanted to be diet buddies (my words, not hers). I’ve never had a diet buddy! In college I had a workout buddy but we only went twice a week on Tuesdays and Thursdays and I had to be home before 7 so I could watch Gilmore Girls (priorities) on Tuesdays, so gym time wasn’t that great. Hopefully we’ll all be able to keep each other motivated and in check!

simmons workout

Yesterday I found this great Fandom Workouts. I can get behind them, especially the Game of Thrones and Big Bang Theory workouts! http://www.buzzfeed.com/mlew15/20-fandom-based-workouts-to-get-you-up-and-moving-h0se

So here’s to redecorating, both my house and my health! Have a fantastic rest of the week and Memorial Day weekend!

2 thoughts on “True Story Thursday: Redecorating”

  1. Redecorating is fun, but can also be stressful to find just the right thing. I’m glad you have a plan to tackle a particular room at a time. Have fun with it and share pics 🙂

    Like

  2. Decorating your place is exciting, but also ovewhelming too. I’ve lived in my house for nearly five years, and I still feel like I HAVE SO MUCH TO DO. And sometimes it’s so overwhelming that I just ignore it and read. Or maybe watch TV. Or most likely really, I’m playing on the Internet.

    I can’t wait to see pictures of your new couch!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

