Retro Reads, Young Adult

Retro Reads by YOU! Lucy from The Reading Date

Welcome to my newest feature, Retro Reads by YOU!

retro reads by you

Today I have one of my favorite bloggers, Lucy from The Reading Date, on the blog talking about some of her favorite retro reads!

Lucy in 5th grade
Lucy in 5th grade

Tell us about you and your blog.

I’ve been blogging about books, audiobooks, and movies at The Reading Date for the last four years. I’m a mom to a hs freshman, and she’s what got me into reading YA. Twilight, The Hunger Games and If I Stay got me hooked!

What Retro Reads books take you back to your childhood or young adult days? Tell us about what made those books so special to you.

There wasn’t really a YA category when I was a YA back in the (old) days.

I devoured all of Judy Blume’s books (Are you There God, Blubber, Deenie, Forever), S.E. Hinton’s (The Outsiders, Rumble Fish, That was Then, This was Now, and Lois Duncan’s (Summer of Fear, I Know What You Did Last Summer, Killing Mr. Griffin), segueing to V.C. Andrews (Flowers in the Attic) and Stephen King (The Shining, Carrie, Salem’s Lot).

Judy Blume’s books were so relatable, and even though some of the references were dated at the time I read them, the themes still connected with me.

then again, maybe i won't

Have your reading preferences changed since you were younger? If so, tell us about how they have.

I don’t read as many mysteries and thrillers as I used to! Though I always loved contemporary.

You visit your school’s book fair and have $5 to spend (hey, that was a lot way back in the day). What would you buy?

I got a lot of my books from the library (my mom was a librarian) but if I had book fair $ I’d buy Judy Blume or Lois Duncan books probably.

List 2-3 books that you hope young adults today will talk about in the future as their favorite retro reads.

Eleanor & Park, The Hunger Games, If I Stay

Thanks so much Lucy for sharing your favorite retro reads with us!

Want to join in the fun and share your own retro reads with us? It’s easy! Just fill out the below Google form and I’ll be in touch!

5 thoughts on “Retro Reads by YOU! Lucy from The Reading Date”

  1. What a fun feature. I also loved Judy Blume as a kid and the Babysitter’s Club as well as a lot of Christopher Pike. I also started getting into comics around 6-7th grade and spent many years after that reading comics and books with vampires.

    Like

  2. Good stuff! Ive seen dozens of covers for “Then Again, Maybe I Wont”. The one you pictured here was the cover I read from! I dont know anyone else who had that one.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

