Young Adult

Bout of Books Day 1: If you like, try

Bout of Books

Welcome to Bout of Books! I’m so excited it’s starting and I’ve been looking forward to it for quite some time!

One of my mental goals (not official goals) is to participate in daily challenges and Twitter chats. They’re so fun and I love getting to know people that way! Today’s daily challenge is hosted by The Book Barbies and they are doing a If you like X, Try Y challenge! The rules are pretty simple and the guidelines pretty open, so hooray getting to use my imagination! Let’s get started!

If you like cookies, try

Hunger Games

Why? Two words: Peeta Mellark. Boy knows how to bake some cookies amiright?!

If you like Pride and Prejudice, try

lbd

Why? Because there are dozens of retellings out there and movie adaptations, but this is such a unique form! Told in video diary (vlog) style, you get to follow Lizzie Bennet, a 20-something grad student working on her thesis, and a crazy cast of characters as they go through finding a job, figuring out what their purpose is, and finding love. Seriously, this is classic literature for the modern girl (or boy… LBD does not discriminate!)

If you like instalove that WORKS, try

Dirty Little Secret by Jennifer Echols

Why? Despite the fact that this book takes place in like a week’s time, you’ll want to go find your own Johnny Cash mall impersonator and jump his bones. Or, you may want to go to Nashville and wear cowboy boots with a rocker dress. Either one, you’re going to have desires for so many things once you read it!

If you like big butts and you cannot lie, try

city of lost souls

Why? LOOK AT THE SIZE OF THAT THING! Seriously, I think the cover artist got a little excited playing with Photoshop.

butt

If you like throwing things across the room, try

delirium-by-lauren-oliver

Why? Wait til you get to the end. I threw that shit as hard as I could.

If you like movies better than books, try 

Stardust_PBCVR[1]

Why? The book was good… the movie better. Although it’s like comparing a grapefruit to an orange. They’re both citrus, but one’s more sour and hard to eat while the other is sweeter and easily eaten.

If you like Loki, try

shadow_bone_sketch_both3

Why? Because sometimes it’s good to get the hots for the bad guy.

Good luck to everyone this week! Now, let’s get to reading!

7 thoughts on “Bout of Books Day 1: If you like, try”

  1. I totally agree with Stardust! Definitely not the most faithful adaptation… but since I’m not a huge fan of Gaiman, that’s actually sort of a plus for me. Great movie!

    Like

    1. I enjoyed the book well enough… but I think it was too dark and raw compared to the movie. I preferred the lighter version that the movie was. That’s the only Gaiman book I’ve read, so I don’t know if I’m a fan of his or not!

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

