Young Adult

Travel By Book: Theme Parks

If you’re anything like me, you LOVE to travel, see new places. There are lots of ways to travel too: car, train, bus, plane… but, again, if you’re like me, extensive traveling is pretty much… unextensive. So I’ve come up with a new way of traveling… BY BOOK!

travel by book

There have been many times that I’ve read a book set in a place I’ve never been and immediately felt like I was there. Who needs to ACTUALLY travel there when you’ve just experienced an incredibly journey?

For today’s Travel By Book we’re going to theme parks!

I love a good theme park, Disney, Harry Potter World, Six Flags… some of my favorite childhood (and adulthood) memories come from hours spent at a theme park! What’s even more fun is seeing different theme parks in books, whether they are real ones or made up ones.

So pack your bags for a day at a theme park and here’s your passport… via books!

Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt – No theme park road trip would be complete without a stop at Disney, be it Land or World. And unless you live in a 90s sitcom, your visit to Disney will most likely include one epic meltdown in the center of either Fantasyland or Frontierland… it’s inevitable. Make sure you have a non-melting snack, water, or favorite toy and find an available park bench STAT. Going Vintage has one such scene that made me both laugh and cringe.

How Zoe Made Her Dreams Come (Mostly) True by Sarah Strohmeyer – Raise your hand if you didn’t want to work in a theme park as a teenager, getting to dress up as your favorite fairy tale princess every day. That’s basically what this book is. I’ll admit, I kind of envied Zoe here…

Disneylanders by Kate Abbott – Guys. The title says it all. Disney. Win.

Forget You by Jennifer Echols – I THINK this is the one, correct me if I’m wrong, but there’s a water park in here. While I now think water parks are liquid germ factories, as a kid they were always super exciting! Especially if they were themed.

Any favorite books that have a theme park in it? Let me know if you’ve read any so I can add to the list!

4 thoughts on “Travel By Book: Theme Parks”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

