Young Adult

What I’m Reading

I wouldn’t say I’m in a reading slump so much as I’m tackling long and/or complicated books while I’m completely tired. I don’t have too too many books that I’m currently reading (thank goodness) but I think the ones I’m reading are total goodies!

Here’s what I’m reading:

We Were Liars by e. lockhart – I finished this one last night. It was ALMOST a throw across the room book, but a) it was on my kindle and b) I realized once I got over from my shock that I kind of loved it.

Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor – It’s slow… oh so slow. But having just finished Days of Blood and Starlight the other week I’m still going on the high from it and loving this slow build and the emotions and and and… sigh. So good.

Nowhere But Home by Liza Palmer – I’d suggested this one for our book club’s April meeting. But… turned out no one could actually make the meeting (which is good because I’m only like 1/10th into it) so we’re moving it to May. Loving it so far though! I’m getting excited about finding books that are about people my age going through issues I’m facing.

Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler – Found this one at my favorite used bookstore and knew I HAD to have it! I’ve been reading it at lunch when I go to the park and am loving it oh so much! Can’t wait to get further into it. I also really love the cover. The different shades of blues in the heart are so pretty to me.

Upcoming Reads

The Girl Who Never Was by Skylar Dorset – I signed up to be part of the Faerie Court street team or something. Basically getting to promote a book I’m excited for!

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell – I got this in the mail yesterday from my Spring Book Exchange person! Thank you oh so much! I cannot WAIT to get started!

Question time: I’ve been thinking very hard about doing a video blog for this “feature” but have been hesitant because well… self-conscious reasons. For those of you who do vlogs, any advice you have for getting started or just any advice in general? It would be very appreciated!

Also, what are you reading these days? Have a happy weekend!

7 thoughts on “What I’m Reading”

    1. I personally would recommend this to anyone who likes e. lockhart’s books, mostly because you know how she writes and how her MCs are always a little different. If you haven’t read any of her books, I’d still recommend it because while it was a little different, it was a beautiful kind of different. The Selective Collective (which I’m a member of) is reading it for our May book and we’ve all had diverse reactions to it, but our conversations about it so far have been fairly positive.

      Like

  1. Nowhere But Home is good! I am sure your book club will have much to talk about with it, too. And Attachments is awesome. I loaned it to my mom (who is not a big reader) and she liked it! I have yet to get my book back, haha. I hope you enjoy it, too!

    Like

    1. We’ve read some good books but sadly we only talk about books for MAYBE 5 mins! haha

      I’m so excited about Attachments. I’ve been wanting to read it forever but kept having trouble finding a copy.

      Like

  2. Yay, yay, yay for Attachments. It’s super cute, and I think you will get a kick out of all the y2k worries in the book!

    I’ve done a few vlogs, but not in a really long time. I used my macbo camera. I don’t know much about making videos, but I watch a ton of Youtube videos – I love all those makeup tutorials! I’ve heard that you should take up 1/3 of the video, and then the sides should be your background. And it’s best to have light coming from infront of you, and not behind. If it’s behind you look really dark. Annnnnnd that’s all I know! 🙂

    I can’t wait to see your vlogs!

    Like

    1. I’m so excited about Attachments!

      Thanks for the advice! I really hope to start them soon, but am still very nervous. Not really talking or deciding what I’d say but more like “will I look disgusting on video?” 🙂

      Like

  3. I have a copy of Nowhere but Home- hope you and your book club enjoy it! Twenty Boy Summer is a good one too. I’ve been kind of exhausted lately by reading too. Laini Taylor is awesome but yeah her books can be hard to read after a long day. I really think you’ll enjoy Attachments!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

