Fairy Tales, Young Adult

Look out, lad, a mermaid be waiting for you In mysterious fathoms below

Originally published on 10/8/12 during my brief stint on Blogger.

Fathomless by Jackson Pearce

fathomless

The Skinny: The youngest of triplets, Celia often thinks of herself as the member of their trio who isn’t important, who they could do without. You see, the three sisters have powers – the power to see the future, the present, and the past. And Celia doesn’t see any point in seeing the past. Lo is a mermaid, her past life nearly forgotten and all hope of returning to her human form nearly given up. But when a handsome boy named Jude falls into the ocean, his accident brings these two together. As the two form a friendship, Jude threatens to come between them as each of them begin to fall for him. But Lo wants Jude for more than just herself. He may be the key to returning to the human world. The only cost is his soul.

BFF?: Celia? Yes. I really liked her and thought she was such a unique character to get to know. I loved her dynamic within her sisters and how she did and did not fit in. She was super hesitant to get involved with Jude, but I liked that it wasn’t because she just wasn’t sure about herself or thought that he’d come between her and her sisters. She didn’t want to get involved because she didn’t want to know his past. I can’t really understand this because when I see a hot boy I want to know everything about him, but I guess if it meant seeing all the other girls he’d been with (if that was the case) I’d probably not want to see that either. Okay Celia, I get ya!

Lo, on the other hand, was kind of Swimfan (no pun intended) and sort of scared the hell out of me. Although she was generally likable, knowing what she was and what she was capable of was pretty terrifying. I don’t think I’d want to be her BFF. Not one bit.

Readability: Told in alternating viewpoints between Celia and Lo, Fathomless is pretty easy to get into and hard to get out of. Add in Lo’s alternate personality and whammo! Chaos ensues. But overall the whole book was lovely, well-written and just as fantastic as anything else written by Jackson Pierce!

Crush Level: 6
I liked Jude – c’mon, his name is Jude. Do you know how many times I’d go around singing “Hey Jude” to him if we dated? But I was kind of wary of him because he seemed… I dunno… fickle in some ways. But he was charming and apparently really sexy in that scruffy musician kind of way. Oh, did I forget to mention that? He’s a musician. That’s why he got a 6 rather than a 5.

Bonus Points
Scary Mermaids
scary mermaid
I know,  I went into this one thinking it was gonna be cutesy Little Mermaid retelling. Then I remembered who wrote it. These little mermaids don’t want you to be part of their world; they want to eat you. I kept picturing the mermaids from that last Pirates of the Caribbean movie – they are scary!

Boardwalk Carnival
boardwalk carnival
I have never been to a boardwalk in my life, but I love the idea of them. I especially like when they have carnivals at them because despite the good times to be had at carnivals, they are the PERFECT setting for some seriously spooky stuff.

Triplets
triplets
You all know how much I love twins. But TRIPLETS?! Triplets with POWERS?! Yeah, you had me at hello.

Commencement Speech: I’ll admit I am not big on the whole mermaid trend. Mostly because it’s a little hard to imagine sexy times with a fish. Luckily, I haven’t come across a mermaid book that has a male mermaid (Merman! <cough, cough> Merman!). However, why on earth was a I hesitant about Fathomless? I should have trusted Jackson Pierce to put out a totally winning piece of writing and for me to love it. Fathomless took me into the depths of the ocean and explained some really out there mermaid lore, how they came to be, how they can survive and become human again. Needless to say, this is NOT where I was expecting it to go! The sisters, love interest, and super powers aside, my favorite part was seeing the complexity of Lo, how she remembered who she used to be and became her once again. Having the alternating viewpoints of both her and her other self (sorry, I really have forgotten her name!) was so unique and it kind of creeped me out, in a really good way. And the ending. THE ENDING. Totally came out of left field and had my jaw dropped for seriously the last few chapters. If you like complexity, you like solid characters, and you like shockingly good endings, this book is most definitely for you.

And if you like sexy times with fish, well this one is probably not up your alley.

Yearbook Quote: None! ARC!

Superlatives – Most likely to NOT be the Little Mermaid

Like this post? You may like these too:

sweetly sistersred tiger lily

2 thoughts on “Look out, lad, a mermaid be waiting for you In mysterious fathoms below”

  1. Fathomless was such an interesting twist on The Little Mermaid tale, to me. I wasn’t expecting the creepy mermaids! And I certainly wasn’t sure how anything would turn out for Celia or Lo in this novel. But I did wind up finding it really compelling!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

