Young Adult

Travel By Book: Ireland

If you’re anything like me, you LOVE to travel, see new places. There are lots of ways to travel too: car, train, bus, plane… but, again, if you’re like me, extensive traveling is pretty much… unextensive. So I’ve come up with a new way of traveling… BY BOOK!

travel by book

There have been many times that I’ve read a book set in a place I’ve never been and immediately felt like I was there. Who needs to ACTUALLY travel there when you’ve just experienced an incredibly journey?

For today’s Travel By Book we’re going to Ireland!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone! One of my favorite holidays because it’s just a great time to have fun, celebrate some of my heritage and wear green! Of course, today I totally forgot it was St. Patrick’s Day and I’m not wearing a speck of green. I’ve already been pinched too. Oh well! I’ve been jonesing to go to Ireland for quite some time now. It’s definitely a bucket list destination.

So pack your bags for Ireland and here’s your passport… via books!

Carrier of the Mark – If you read this one, get the audio. There’s some great Irish accent speaking in it, so it’ll help you perfect your own accent for when/if you travel! I’ll admit, I may have been speaking in an Irish accent the entire time I was listening to this one!

The Scorpio Races – While this is set on the made up island of Thisby, it’s based on the mythological eich uisce, or Celtic water horses. The whole book made me think of Ireland, envisioning a small Irish town from maybe the 40s or 50s. While I normally think of rolling green hills when I think of Ireland, whenever I think about where people actually live, I envision a Thisby-like town. 

Ashes on the Waves – I haven’t read this one but it deals with Irish mythology, something that I don’t know a ton about but am super intrigued by it. It’s so different, I think, with its banshees and will o the wisps and fairies and leprechauns… seems pretty fantastical and magically delicious.

Better Off Friends – Macallan spends the summer in Ireland with her grandparents. Not going to lie: this was my favorite part of the book. Spending a summer (or any extended amount of time) in Ireland is a dream of mine. One day…

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – I don’t remember if they actually GO to Ireland when they attend the Quidditch World Cup, but Ireland plays in it! Go Irish!

And now for some Irish blessings:

May the road rise up to meet you
May the wind be always at your back
May the sun shine warm upon your face
And the rain fall soft upon your fields
And until we meet again
May God hold you in the palm of his hand

(we sing this in church and I love it!)

Any favorite books set in Ireland? Let me know if you’ve read any so I can add to the list!

1 thought on “Travel By Book: Ireland”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

