Young Adult

Fictionships – Science Fiction

One of my favorite parts of books is the relationships. Not necessarily romantic ones – although I do love these! – but all relationships in general. And while it’s fun to talk about individual characters and how they interact with other characters, I feel like I don’t talk nearly enough about relationships.

This new feature, Fictionships, is just the place for that. A place where I can discuss all the fictional relationships I love. Each one will be a different theme (fantasy, contemporary, classic, TV, movies, etc.) so I can switch it up. So, without further ado, here we go!

Fictionships in Science Fiction

Todd and Viola, The Chaos Walking trilogy
chaos_walking

The relationship between Todd and Viola is one of those ones that just sticks with you. I have a feeling it may stick with me the rest of my life. I read my “review” of this series that I wrote a couple years ago and here is what I wrote about them:

Following Todd and Viola was like watching younger siblings grow up and realizing how strong they are. There were moments when I sat back and thought “Wow. Look at them.” Their trials were great but their triumphs were greater. And while I mostly wanted to cheer for them, to encourage them, there were times when I wanted to yell at them, to tell them to stop acting certain ways. I don’t think I’ve felt quite so protective of characters as I do for Todd and Violet

I think that about sums up what I love about them, but their relationship is hard to put into words. It’s warring and worrisome and emotional and stubborn. They’re so young throughout this series, but what they face makes you forget that. It’s only when you realize that they’re barely 14 by the end of the series that it makes their relationship so much more powerful. Or at least to me. I think the feelings I have over their relationship can be summed up by one of my all-time favorite book quotes (which is from this book):

And I kiss him. And it feels like, finally. (Monsters of Men)

Cress and Thorne (Cress)
Cress-final-e1378337072559
This is easily my favorite relationship out of this series, mostly because it reminds me of one of my favorite Disney relationships, Rapunzel and Flynn Rider. I think Cress, with all her naievety, is a perfect balance for Thorne’s cockiness and wit. She brings out this new side of him and he of her. It’s a very interesting dynamic and I think it only has room to get better. I think it’s funny how similar they are, too, even though it’s not in your face obvious. And that works for them, that balance they seem to naturally find.

So that’s it for now! Tune in next time for more fictionships!

2 thoughts on “Fictionships – Science Fiction”

  1. I love the idea of this feature! And I especially liked the relationships you picked to feature today. Todd & Viola is such an incredible relationship, considering they start out as strangers, then people who have to depend on each other to survive, then friends, then something more. They are so much stronger together and I love them.

    I also love Cress & Thorne! It’s definitely my favorite romantic relationship in the series so far. I just love how Cress sort of brings out a bit of a softer side of Thorne(not that I don’t love his rogue-ish side, either), and how innocent, sweet Cress is the last person you would expect Thorne to ever pair up with, but it works so well.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

