Fantasy, Young Adult

My soul is a hidden orchestra

The Newsoul Series by Jodi Meadows

newsoul

The Skinny: In a world where souls are reborn over and over, Ana is the first new soul in millennia. She has lots of adventures and struggles as she tries to find her place among the old souls.

I think that about sums this series up.

BFF?:  Her whole life Ana’s told she’s nothing, she can’t love, doesn’t deserve love. So you’d think she’d be pretty messed up, right? Really the only thing that she struggles with is love, whether it’s friendship or more than friendship. Otherwise though she’s pretty amazing. She’s smart, cunning, witty, thirsty for knowledge. As the series goes on though we see she goes from borderline naive to thoroughly heroic. It’s a pretty fascinating development. Ana is also a really great friend to her new friends, despite how she struggles with it. I love seeing her interact with all the old souls she meets and develops friendships with. Ana made this series honestly. Loved her story.

Readability: I absorbed this series like a sponge. It read so easy but didn’t skimp on lyrical prose, lines that gave me chills. The world building was extremely solid too; I loved seeing this brilliant world filled with mythical beings and beauty beyond belief.

Crush Level: 7
Sam… oh Sam. He was perfect! I loved how he treated Ana – even though she was new he never treated her like she was dumb or the “new kid.” Which I appreciated. He was protective of her but let her do her thing, despite his reservations. He also showed complete trust in her, which won major points with me. One thing I appreciated about this series, and that helped me develop a crush on Sam, was that there wasn’t a lot of stuff that tried to break his and Ana’s relationship apart – love triangles, disasters, villains. The series showed how developed their love became and I honestly think I need more series like this in the love department.

Commencement Speech: You know how you see a book series and think that it probably is not for you, it’s not going to be very good, it’s going to be too juvenile? This is how I saw the Newsoul series. I think the covers are to blame, but regardless I just wasn’t 100% convinced this was going to be a series I wanted to read. But then Alexa from Alexa Loves Books hosted a read along so I decided to join in. Um, my initial thoughts on this series were W.R.O.N.G. This was such a refreshingly interesting series, one that not only entertained me but moved me at times, made me think and get lost in the words, words, words.

I also had NO idea what I was getting myself into, so it was incredibly exciting seeing all the different mythological characters. It’s not the focus of the book, don’t think that, it was just so exciting to see how they all interwove into the story. And the music… don’t get me started on it! I loved every aspect of it. It really added to the overall beauty of this book.

This series was not something I’d pick up without a little push, so I’m so happy that push came in the form of a read along. I love when I find  “hidden” series – ones that I’ve hidden from myself. Within the first few chapters of Incarnate this series became one of my short-list favorites.

Yearbook Quotes:

“I regret I didn’t wear a jacket, or I’d give it to you.”
“I still have my wings. It wouldn’t fit.”
“I’d carry them for you.”
“They’re attached to the dress. It was the only way I could get them to stay.”
He squeezed my hand, tone mischievous. “In that case, I’d be especially happy to carry the wings.”
“Sam!”
“It wouldn’t be the first time I’ve seen you without clothes.”
“Sam!”

“But in the hours that were really minutes, he didn’t beg me not to leave. He didn’t say he hadn’t meant it. When I stood, his gaze just followed me up. Then I was a shattered blown-glass blue rose, and every step away from him made my shards clatter and chime.”

“What I want.” I slid my hands over him until cloth folded between my fingers. “I don’t even know what that is. It feels like too much, but I’ll fall apart if I don’t get it.” 

“I think I died to be reborn with you”  

Superlatives – Most likely to create a symphony in your heart
(whatever, I’m in a cheesy mood after writing this review)

Like this post? You may like these too:

The Goddess Test    The_Iron_King_Cover    shatter me

2 thoughts on “My soul is a hidden orchestra”

  1. I am seriously so happy that you enjoyed this series, C! It’s one of my absolutely FAVORITES, and it’s my mission in the world to get more people reading it. I think it tackles the concepts of reincarnation and what it means beautifully. It’s also just gorgeously written, and got great characters too.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

