Contemporary, Selective Collective, Young Adult

Selective Collective: Better Off Friends Review

Better Off Friends by Elizabeth Eulberg

better off friends

The Skinny: For Macallan and Levi, it was friends at first sight. Everyone says guys and girls can’t be just friends, but these two are. They hang out after school, share tons of inside jokes, their families are super close, and Levi even starts dating one of Macallan’s friends. They are platonic and happy that way.
Eventually they realize they’re best friends — which wouldn’t be so bad if they didn’t keep getting in each other’s way. Guys won’t ask Macallan out because they think she’s with Levi, and Levi spends too much time joking around with Macallan, and maybe not enough time with his date. They can’t help but wonder . . . are they more than friends or are they better off without making it even more complicated?
From romantic comedy superstar Elizabeth Eulberg comes a fresh, fun examination of a question for the ages: Can guys and girls ever really be just friends? Or are they always one fight away from not speaking again — and one kiss away from true love? – From Goodreads

BFF?: We’ve got two narrators and let me just say that it’s pretty hard to decide who I want for my BFF. Macallan lost her mom when she was younger and is still dealing with the loss. Levi has just moved to Wisconsin from California and is the new kid in town. The two discover a mutual like of this crazy British show and it’s fate: they are meant to be BFF. I loved seeing how they both balance each other and bring out all the bests in each other. Macallan was fun and I really liked her personality, but I’ll be honest: I think if I had to choose a favorite, I’d have to go with Levi. He was SO well written and honest. I’m pretty sure I saw a little of just about every guy (both good and bad) that I’ve been friends with and/or dated. However, I saw a lot of myself in Macallan, especially when Levi messed up. I probably would have reacted (or should I say overreacted) exactly like her. Both were well rounded, full of personality and flaws – exactly the kind of characters I love in books.

Readability: As I said, there are dual narrators and while it’s not my favorite, this worked super well. Both voices were strong and unique, so the story flowed really well. It was a really easy read, but filled with great drama and story lines.

Crush Level: 4
Whoa the low score! I promise this isn’t because Levi sucked. He honestly was so adorable and real and I’m sure I would’ve had the biggest crush on him had I been in 8th grade. But I think because I saw so much of his voice and his side, and he was such a teenage boy, I just couldn’t get that worked up over him. I think seeing this epic BFF friendship made it hard to swoon over him.

But here’s the flip-side: I have a best guy friend (he’s not my best friend like Macallan and Levi, but the friendship part of our relationship is similar to theirs) who I’ve had a crush level 10 on for 10 years. I think sometimes when you have a relationship like Macallan and Levi have, it’s only you who can see the swoon. As an outsider looking in, you can see that they clearly only have eyes for each other and you need to bow out gracefully, forgetting all hopes of swooning. However, Levi had some super duper wonderful so he gets a 4.

Bonus Points:
Grandparents’ meeting story

I don’t want to give a second of this away, but omg my heart pitter-pattered when I read this part!

Summer in Ireland

This is a major dream of mine. While I know it will probably never happen… no, you know what? It COULD happen. One day I will spend a summer in Ireland and it will be glorious.

Commencement Speech: So Elizabeth Eulberg knows her stuff. This is the second book of hers I’ve read and absolutely loved it. It was just as sweet and wonderful as I was expecting, if not more! I loved seeing the dynamic between Macallan and Levi and their ever growing and changing relationship. It did lots of things to my heart! Something else worth mentioning is that there are lots of relationships in this book, some more prevalent than others, each just as important as the main relationship (Macallan and Levi).

This may be kind of a silly thing to bring up, but I loved the different fonts used. I hope they aren’t changed in the final book (we had ARCs). Macallan’s font is one style, Levi’s another. It not only helped keep their conversations easy to read, but completely changed the atmosphere of the book – it’s like the fonts were indicative of each character’s personalities.

Overall, this is another stellar book from Eulberg and I hope you’ll all get a chance to read!

Yearbook Quote: None! ARC!
Superlatives: Most likely to make you want to hurry up and not take an hour and a half to order a sandwich
Like this post? You may like these:
revenge of gp   mtb   Uncommon-Criminals-by-Ally-Carter

SCnewbanner

Check out the other parts of The Selective Collective to discover more about Better Off Friends!

dream-cast-button 

8 thoughts on “Selective Collective: Better Off Friends Review”

  1. Yay, great review! I agree that multiple POVs can be tricky if not done well, but I also agree that she did a great job with this one. I loved seeing their perspectives evolve. Wait — you’ve had feelings for your best male friend for 10 years? Wow! Does he know?

    Like

  2. Yay, lovely review, Candice! I loved the friendship and how strong their bond was and it was so interesting to see how that played a part in their friendship on so many levels.
    I actually loved the dual POV! I agree, it doesn’t always work for me but I really enjoyed it here because both perspectives were so important! 🙂

    Like

  3. I loved this book! And you, as always, did a fabulous job reviewing it. I think the dual perspectives were one of the things I loved most because it’s so fun (if done well) to get into a boy’s head!

    Like

  4. This was a great review Candice. I also loved this book. At first I was concerned about the dual POV as well, but I thought it was well done. I loved Levi, but it’s so weird to think about a crush on a character that could be my son, so I didn’t quite go there. I just hope my daughter finds a guy to have a cool, special relationship with like Macallan and Levi.

    Yes, the grandparents were awesome. I enjoyed that part of the book a lot.

    Like

  5. Ahhh… nostalgia. I had a crush on my best guy friend in eighth grade, but I think that crush developed simply out of the fact that I read way too many romance novels and hung out with very few guys.
    This sounds like an enjoyably fluffy read. I’ve read a couple of Elizabeth Eulberg’s books; she’s great.
    I’ll definitely be adding this book to my to-read list.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

