Dystopian, Young Adult

Please don’t leave me, Don’t deceive me

deception

Deception by C.J. Redwine

The Skinny: Baalboden has been ravaged. The brutal Commander’s whereabouts are unknown. And Rachel, grief stricken over her father’s death, needs Logan more than ever. With their ragged group of survivors struggling to forge a future, it’s up to Logan to become the leader they need—with Rachel by his side. Under constant threat from rival Carrington’s army, who is after the device that controls the Cursed One, the group decides to abandon the ruins of their home and take their chances in the Wasteland.

But soon their problems intensify tenfold: someone—possibly inside their ranks—is sabotaging the survivors, picking them off one by one. The chaos and uncertainty of each day puts unbearable strain on Rachel and Logan, and it isn’t long before they feel their love splintering. Even worse, as it becomes clear that the Commander will stop at nothing to destroy them, the band of survivors begins to question whether the price of freedom may be too great—and whether, hunted by their enemies and the murderous traitor in their midst, they can make it out of the Wasteland alive.  – From Goodreads

BFF?: Back when I read Defiance I was all about Rachel. She was tough, she was brave, she was vulnerable – all good things that make up a well-rounded character. Unfortunately, this time around, I didn’t see much of these things in her. I guess she still kept some of them, but it was like there was something there preventing me from connecting with her. She vaguely reminded me of Tris in Insurgent – I wasn’t a fan of her constant moping and wallowing in self-pity (although rightly so) over people she killed – which was deeply disappointing. I wanted my fierce Rachel! Luckily, towards the very end I got a glimpse of her, so that leaves me with high hopes for the next chapter in this series.

Readability: Like Defiance, I had a hard time differentiating between Rachel and Logan. They were both well written, but just not very different voices. Also, I’m sure it was me, but I was so bored reading this one, even though there was tons of action scenes. I think I was just not in a good mood/place while reading this one, so I’m gonna say that you should ignore my comments here.

Crush Level: 6
Oh Logan… what happened to you my friend?! You started out with a 9. A freaking 9! While he didn’t really change, I think I just didn’t get to see enough of his swoony side in this book. It was more about him leading his group of followers, protecting his people, heroics and struggles! BUT WHERE IS THE KISSING?! I mean, I know that you’re being chased by an evil psychopath, but WHERE IS THE KISSING?! There were a few saving graces from him – he still holds onto his Clark Kent side while all the while being Superman – but I just didn’t get the same tingles from him as I did last time.

Commencement Speech: Like I mentioned earlier, I didn’t really get into this book. I was bored, there were times when I had to make myself read, and it felt like after each chapter I had to put it down because I just couldn’t go on. However, I don’t think that it was because of the book; I think it was me 100%. I think what made me bored was it was basically a journey book. We’re going from here to there and the whole book is about the struggles we face. Yawn. Not my favorite type of story.

I really hate that I’m being so negative with this review, because a) I was really looking forward to this book and b) I really loved Defiance. And I feel like there were so many good parts to this book – I remember crying a few times! – but I feel like most of them were lost to me due to whatever was going on with me.

So. Overall. I don’t discourage you from reading this book. In fact, I encourage you even more to read it and hope that you find it awesome so you’ll tell me that it was really good and that I should give it another try!

Yearbook Quote: “”Tears don’t bring people back.” … “Tears aren’t for the people we’ve lost. They’re for us. So we can remember, and celebrate, and miss them, and feel human,” he says.”

“… healing is so much harder than being hurt in the first place.” 

Superlatives – Most likely to need a reread

Like this post? You may like these too:

Defiance jkt des2.indd Insurgent_212 siege and storm

3 thoughts on “Please don’t leave me, Don’t deceive me”

  1. I’ve heard similar reviews about this book, hence the reason I haven’t run off to get it. Honestly, I felt like “Defiance” could’ve been a standalone book. It didn’t need to be dragged into a series. Oh well, oh well. Thanks for the review!

    Like

  2. I got a copy of this book right after it came out, but I just haven’t been able to make myself read it yet. It kind of got shoved down on my list of priorities, so… I’ll read it eventually, I guess.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

