Contemporary, Young Adult

Being Sloane Jacobs

Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren morrill

Untitled-1

The Skinny: On Internment, the floating island in the clouds where 16-year-old Morgan Stockhour lives, getting too close to the edge can lead to madness. Even though Morgan’s older brother, Lex, was a Jumper, Morgan vows never to end up like him. She tries her best not to mind that her life is orderly and boring, and if she ever wonders about the ground, and why it is forbidden, she takes solace in best friend Pen and her betrothed, Basil.

Then a murder, the first in a generation, rocks the city. With whispers swirling and fear on the wind, Morgan can no longer stop herself from investigating, especially when she meets Judas. He is the boy being blamed for the murder — betrothed to the victim — but Morgan is convinced of his innocence. Secrets lay at the heart of Internment, but nothing can prepare Morgan for what she will find — or who she will lose. – From Goodreads

BFF?: Since there are two Sloanes, I’ve decided to break it down:
Sloane Emily – Honestly, I preferred Sloane Emily of the two, but only when she was the narrator. Although she doesn’t seem to have a firm grasp on reality – not that she was flighty or anything – she’s pretty determined and focused. She’s also angry but has a difficult time expressing it. Her transformation isn’t super big, but I like that she accepts her family’s crappy situation and strives to not let it define her.

Sloane Devon – At first we’re presented with this almost scary Sloane. But the more we get to know her, it’s almost difficult to differentiate her from Sloane Emily. They very definitely have their own personalities, but like Sloane Emily she’s determined, focused, imaginative, and holds onto her anger. She just lets it’s show differently. Like she hits people. But of the two I think her transformation is most astonishing. I love the girl she becomes and towards the end I ended up liking her a whole lot more than I did at the beginning.

Readability: I really enjoyed reading this one. It’s light, fun, and has lots of heart. I was a little worried the two Sloanes would sound similar with the dual POV, but they didn’t. Each had their own attitude and voice, which was nice.

Crush Level: 5
Both of the Sloanes met a boy at their camps, but honestly… neither were very memorable. Sloane Emily met Matt and Sloane Devon met Nando. Matt was apparently the hockey camp slut who had turned over a new leaf and Nando was a hockey player from Philly who had gone to college in Montreal. That’s about it. Nothing to see here. As much as I like a good romance, I had hoped there would be lots of romance and kissy times in this book. But after I got into it, I found I didn’t care much about it. This is a good thing, not a bad thing.

Bonus Points
 Figure Skating
Figure+Skating+Day+8+UBn8Om1ox2Rl
My biggest fantasy has always been to be a figure skater. However I can barely stay up longer than 2 minutes on skates. Therefore I have to live vicariously though others. It was really exciting to get to experience figure skating through this book, mostly because I was experiencing it through the eyes of Sloane Devon who had no idea how to figure skate!

Switching Places
parent trap
You simply cannot go wrong with switching places in a book, especially if the two characters are complete opposites. There were hijinks, struggles and hilarity abundant!

Canadian Teasing
HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER
I really have no reason to make fun of Canadians, but I loved that there was a scene that reminded me of Barney Stinson making fun of Canadians. It honestly could have been an episode of How I Met Your Mother.

Yearbook Quote: None! ARC!

Superlatives – Most likely to be new! This Friday on Disney!

Like this post? You may like these too:

mtb    the boyfriend list    the statistical probability of love at first sight

2 thoughts on “Being Sloane Jacobs”

  1. This was just an ‘okay’ read for me, unfortunately. I had heard such wonderful things about Meant to Be and was really looking forward to this one, but it ended up falling a bit flat.

    I completely agree about the boys! They were there. That’s it. The romance was passable – nothing special.

    My biggest complaint about this book was with how quickly the girls picked up their new sports. In their own sport they had been training since childhood, yet once they switched roles, it only took a week or two before successfully landing jumps or scoring goals.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

