Selective Collective, Young Adult

Selective Collective: Author Lauren Morrill

SCnewbannerThis month we had the opportunity to read Lauren Morrill’s newest book Being Sloane Jacobs!
Untitled-1

About the book:

Meet Sloane Emily Jacobs: a seriously stressed-out figure-skater from Washington, D.C., who choked during junior nationals and isn’t sure she’s ready for a comeback. What she does know is that she’d give anything to escape the mass of misery that is her life.

Now meet Sloane Devon Jacobs, a spunky ice hockey player from Philly who’s been suspended from her team for too many aggressive hip checks. Her punishment? Hockey camp, now, when she’s playing the worst she’s ever played. If she messes up? Her life will be over.

When the two Sloanes meet by chance in Montreal and decide to trade places for the summer, each girl thinks she’s the lucky one: no strangers to judge or laugh at Sloane Emily, no scouts expecting Sloane Devon to be a hero. But it didn’t occur to Sloane E. that while avoiding sequins and axels she might meet a hockey hottie—and Sloane D. never expected to run into a familiar (and very good-looking) face from home. It’s not long before the Sloanes discover that convincing people you’re someone else might be more difficult than being yourself.

^^^^^

I had the great opportunity to sit down (well, really just shoot an email to) with author Lauren Morrill! She is one of our faves here at the Selective Collective and I’m excited to get to talk to her about her newest book!

1) Being Sloane Jacobs features two winter sports, ice skating and hockey, which are both top sports in the Winter Olympics. Any favorite Winter Olympic sport you like to watch?

 I’ve been a figure skating fan ever since I was a little kid, watching with my mom. It’s pretty much the winter sport I’m most riveted to during the Olympics. As a die-hard fan of the movie Cool Runnings, I usually love to pick up some bobsled, and as a roller derby skater, I love watching speed skating. I think that would be the Olympic sport I’d be most likely to take up. I also love all the bios and interviews and behind the scenes packages the networks do. I eat that stuff up! And I’m huge sucker for Olympic commercials. Don’t mind me, I’ll just be off crying about this Visa commercial featuring Morgan Freeman and a track star … http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e9wV8AUe6_A

My reaction to reading this: OMG Lauren likes Cool Runnings?! I love that movie!!!

 2) One thing I took away from Being Sloane Jacobs was that it was about discovering not only another lifestyle but discovering oneself as well. Have you ever experienced anything like the Sloanes did (trying something new, not switching places with someone!) that helped you to discover yourself?

 I grew up as a very non-athletic kid. In high school I avoided all sports, and mostly stuck with marching band and editing the newspaper. I don’t think I ran a full mile all at once until college. But in 2006, I discovered roller derby, and something inside me said that I had to try out. Let me be clear, I’m a person who doesn’t like to be tired and is terrified of getting hurt, so a full contact sport? Yeah, I never thought it would be something I’d do. But I immediately fell in love. I discovered my inner competitor, and for the first time in my life I embraced being an athlete. It was fun to harness all that aggression and find myself in a totally new world of badass female athletes. That was really what inspired me to write Being Sloane Jacobs in the first place.

3) If you met another Lauren Morrill and decided to change places with her, and you could choose what she did (for a living, as a hobby, etc), what would you want her to be?

 I’d go with either director or airline pilot. I’ve been working as an extra on The Vampire Diaries and The Originals (both of which film near my home in Georgia), and I’ve loved the excitement of being on set. Being an actress looks really fun, but I think my bossy nature and my eye for detail would be best served running the ship! As for airline pilot? Well, that’s what my dad does, and I’m always jealous of all the places eh gets to travel. It would be fun to spend a few weeks traveling around the world!

 4) Both of the Sloanes have some pretty serious family issues going on in their lives, which I think will speak to a lot of young adults who also have family issues. As a young adult did you have any books that helped you get through tough times? What are some you would recommend now to young adults?

 The book that initially made me want to be a writer was Judy Blume’s JUST AS LONG AS WE’RE TOGETHER. In it, Stephanie is dealing with navigating middle school, friendships, and the dynamic of having divorced parents. My parents divorced when I was 8 and my dad traveled a lot as a pilot, so JUST AS LONG AS WE’RE TOGETHER was the first book that I really felt like it spoke to the experiences I was having, and let me know that my family was totally normal. And let’s be honest, middle school is pretty much a horror show, so I needed something positive and uplifting to get me through it. Judy Blume always does the trick!

 5) We here at the Selective Collective are big fans of you and your books, as are many of our fellow book bloggers. How has your “fandom” affected you as a writer? 

 Ok, first of all let me say that that’s the first time anyone’s referred to my readers as a fandom, and as a big freakin’ nerd, I love that!!! Over the last year I’ve had the good fortune not only to interact with my readers via social media (seriously, I’m a Twitter addict), but also meet a lot of them in real life while visiting festivals and book stores. My readers are the reason why I do this, so getting to meet and interact has only made writing more fun for me. The thought of getting more books into your hands is what sends me back to my laptop every day!

Thanks so much to Lauren Morrill for the interview!

Check out the other parts of The Selective Collective to discover more about Being Sloane Jacobs:

 dream-cast-button

Think you might want to read Being Sloane Jacobs? Here’s how YOU can win your very own copy!

Simply comment on this post and leave your first name and email address. That’s it!

Rules for entering:

  • You must be a U.S. resident
  • You must be over 13
  • You must enter by 11:59 pm (Central Time) on 1/28/14
3 thoughts on “Selective Collective: Author Lauren Morrill”

  1. Just As Long As We’re Together was (and still is) one of my favorite Blume books! It makes me happy to know Lauren feels the same. I’m also always in awe (and slightly jealous) that she gets to be on the set of TVD and The Originals so often, since I LOVE those shows.

    Like

  2. Oh I just love her! Lauren Morrill gives me the warm fuzzies. I LOVE that she’s a roller derby girl, and even more so that it was so far out of her realm of “norm” for her at the time she tried out!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

