Young Adult

My Roomies Story and GIVEAWAY!

With Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando recently releasing, Little Brown is holding a special giveaway to celebrate!

 

Unless you are incredibly lucky, you’ve probably had a roommate. And if you’ve had a roommate, you probably have a horror story about at least one. But with bad roommate stories comes opportunities like this to bond with people and swap stories!

My junior year of college I transferred from my tiny private liberal arts college where I had FANTASTIC roommates to a giant public university where I knew practically no one. My parents insisted I live on campus, so I picked one of the apartment style dorms on campus and hoped for the best.

I lucked out getting my own room in my dorm (they were two bedroom apartments that housed 3 people in each apartment – overcrowding much?). When I went to check in, I met one of my roommates – we’ll call her Bertha because I don’t remember her name – and honestly? This girl gave me the stink-eye as soon as I said hello. Her parents introduced themselves AND HER! Already starting rough.

I could go on and on about the awful things she did – hair all over the bathroom, hair product residue left everywhere, allowing random people to just walk into our apartment, pot smells coming from her room… trust me, it was bad.

But the honestly worst thing she did was in the kitchen. She had this thing for making fried bologna. Now, as a Southern girl I am no stranger to this, having eaten many fried bologna sandwiches as a little girl (true story: my mom would cut a wedge out of the bologna and call it a Pac-Man sandwich). But as an adult, I realized just what went into bologna and gross.

Not only did this smell up the entire apartment, but she would leave the dirty frying pan in the sink, which helped keep up the smell, as well as the rinds from the bologna all over the counter. For days. It was miserable and to this day I can’t look at bologna without shuddering over her grossness.

In a side note, she once had chocolate cake and dropped a hunk of it on the counter. This also sat there for days.

After this experience and a few more bad ones as I finished college, I vowed never to have a roommate again. I may be living out of a refrigerator box under the overpass, but I’ll be living alone!

Now that I’ve shared my horror story, on to the giveaway! Little Brown has put together a really GREAT Roomie survival kit/gift pack including earplugs, home spa essentials, a signed copy of the book, a special note from the authors, and other fun things—all packed in a shower caddy (US only)!

To enter, all you have to do is leave a comment below with your name and email address and a brief roommate story – doesn’t have to be just college; it can be any kind of story (camp, college, adult life, vacation, etc). A winner will be picked from here and his/her name will be sent on to Little Brown so they can mail the book out. Be sure to enter by January 14th, 2014!

Also, here are Sara and Tara’s confirmed tour dates! Be sure to check them out if you’re in the area!

Sara and Tara’s confirmed tour dates:

  • January 12, 2014 – New York, NY: McNally Jackson [venue link]
  • January 15, 2014 – Salt Lake City, UT: The King’s English [venue link]
  • January 16, 2014 – Provo, UT: Provo Library [venue link]
  • February 4, 2014 – San Francisco, CA: Books Inc, Opera Plaza [venue link]
  • February 5, 2015 – Petaluma, CA: Copperfield’s Books [venue link
9 thoughts on “My Roomies Story and GIVEAWAY!”

  1. Oh man, that sounds like an awful roommate situation. Yuck. My roommate sophomore through senior year was not the neatest person, but neither was I, and we were still really great friends(I mean, we decided to live together for three years). But now that I’m out of college, I still have roommates, and now I have THREE of them. I actually do like all my roommates, but just living with three other people who aren’t related to me can be trying. Thankfully we all have our own rooms and bathrooms, though! We do fun roommate things every once in awhile, though, which helps. Movie nights are pretty easy. It’s strange because out of the four of us, three of us have graduated, and the forth one is still in college, which is an interesting dynamic! It’s worked pretty well thus far, though, and our lease is up in May.

    (Oh, and email address: stormydawnc (at) gmail (dot) com.

    Like

  2. I TOTALLY FEEL YOU CANDACE. I had some roommates that threw fruit into a garbage can in our place and didn’t empty the garbage and all of a sudden our entire place was filled with fruit flies. It was the most disgusting thing ever. But yay for being out of college (well, you. me almost) and not having to deal with that anymore!

    Like

  3. I hope I never have to go through a roommate situation like yours. I would probably lose my mind with a roommate like that.
    I’ve been meaning to read Roomies; it’s on my tablet, but I haven’t started it yet.

    Like

  4. I had a roommate whose friend would come over and eat food out of my mini fridge when I wasn’t around. Whenever I confronted either of them, they would deny it. The strange thing was that I don’t think she ever ate any of my food. Instead, her friend was the one eating my food. It was bizarre.

    Like

  5. I once had a roommate in college who refused to go to her boyfriend’s place (even though he had his own room in a suite, and we had an open double, or basically a large room with no dividers) – and so whenever I came back to the dorm, he was ALWAYS there. This one time, I had passed out from exhaustion after pulling two allnighters and working nonstop.
    When I finally woke up, it was the middle of the night and I really wanted to shower…. but I heard grunts – of course they were having sex in her bed while I was in the room. I could’ve ignored it, but in order to get out of the room and to the showers, I had to face her bed – which I refused to do. So I pretended to still be asleep and just ignored her for the rest of the year. (Sadly, this was still during the first semester).
    Needless to say, we’re not friends anymore.

    email: mx.wong90@gmail.com

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

