Young Adult

Fictionships – Fantasy

One of my favorite parts of books is the relationships. Not necessarily romantic ones – although I do love these! – but all relationships in general. And while it’s fun to talk about individual characters and how they interact with other characters, I feel like I don’t talk nearly enough about relationships.

This new feature, Fictionships, is just the place for that. A place where I can discuss all the fictional relationships I love. Each one will be a different theme (fantasy, contemporary, classic, TV, movies, etc.) so I can switch it up. So, without further ado, here we go!

Fictionships in Fantasy

Celaena and Chaol
This is one of my FAVORITE relationships mostly because they’re so absolutely perfect together. In Throne of Glass we see the whisperings of romantic feelings, which makes us eager to see those feelings grow. And then in Crown of Midnight huzzah! Feelings growth! I think what I love best about this one isn’t just that their relationship is sweet and kind but that it’s filled with trouble. There are some times when I don’t enjoy this, but Celaena and Chaol’s relationship is definitely the exception. And when the relationship takes a turn for the worst? Oh, that’s when it gets even better. It’s heartbreaking and worrisome and makes you terrified for them both. Every scene with them together makes you hold your breath and fear the worst, but hope for the best.

Taran and Eilonwy (Chronicles of Prydain)
taran eilonwy
I read these books when I was younger and super enjoyed them. Actually, true story – Disney made an animated movie of The Black Cauldron back in the 80s. We had this black market copy of Pinocchio that had this trailer for The Black Cauldron on it. Shizz was terrifying. I even had a copy of the Little Golden Book of The Black Cauldron. I knew all about these characters – Taran, Princess Eilonwy, Hen Wen, Gurgi – but didn’t actually see the movie until I was a teenager. Crazy, right? Anyway… back to the relationship.

Taran and Eilonwy start out in the series as kids, kids who give each other a really hard time. They argue, they fuss, they banter – it’s all super cute and most times witty/funny. In a way it kind of reminds me of early Ron and Hermione. But as the series progresses we get to see them grow and their childish arguing turns to something a bit more. You can start to tell there are different feelings growing as their relationship turns from arguing children to sharp, witty, adults. While these books aren’t romantic in the slightest bit, reading between the lines shows you a really beautifully written and gorgeous love story.

So that’s it for now! Tune in next time for more fictionships!

3 thoughts on “Fictionships – Fantasy”

  1. Basically, I agree with absolutely everything you had to say about Celaena and Chaol. (Honestly though, if he existed in real life, I would have staked my claim on him and been all, “Celaena, he’s MINE.”)

    Ahem.

    As for your second choice, would you believe I’ve never read these books or even watched the movie? I’m guessing, based on your description, that needs to be remedied.

    Like

  2. I love the unfolding of relationships in books, I’m the opposite to you though – I prefer the non romantic ones.
    I can’t comment on the relationships featured here as I’m not the best when it comes to fantasy books, but I’m definitely staying tuned for me of this kind.
    🙂

    Like

  3. I LOVE this! I love the romantic times in books. Romance is my thing. But I also love reading about strong friendships – especially between women. I just read The Season by Sarah MacLean. I wasn’t as in love with the book as I was expecting to be, but I loved the strong friendship between Alex, Ella and Vivi. Stuff like that always makes me happy.

    Anyway, I haven’t read either of these books, so I can’t talk about the relationships between these different characters. I do love a slow build romance, though, which sounds like what’s going on with Choal

    Also, while I was reading about the two characters from the Lloyd Alexander books I was thinking, hey they’re like Ron and Hermione (and I so ship that!) and then you said the same thing! Great minds think alike, right?

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

