To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – New to Me Authors 2013 Style

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

One of the best things about being a blogger is getting to meet different authors through their books. And while there are tons of new authors out there, there are tons of established ones that I haven’t met yet. So when I do finally read one of their books it’s like joining this amazing club or friendship with not only other bloggers but other readers who adore their books.

This year has been filled with new to me authors, some new, some established. All fantastic!

Here are my Top Ten New to Me Authors of 2013:

Rainbow Rowell – Even though technically she’s been around a little while, I feel like 2013 was the year of Rainbow. Between Eleanor & Park and Fangirl, Rainbow QUICKLY became my favorite author of 2013.

Sara Dessen – I’ve mentioned my little Dessen problem (buying her books and not reading any of them) before, but this year I finally decided to read one of the many, many books of hers I have sitting on my bookshelf. I honestly do not regret this one bit.

Trish Dollar – Have you read her books? I’ve only read one (Where the Stars Still Shine) but after reading it I need to track down anything she’s already written (ok it’s only one other book) and anything she ever will write. Amazing!

Lindsey Leavitt – Like Trish, she’s got another book out but I’ve only read one of hers (Going Vintage). Oh so cute book and oh so cute writer!

Tahereh Mafi – Um, anyone who can create someone as sexy as Warner (I don’t care if you’re on his team or not, you have to admit he’s sexy) is huge in my book. I also think she’s got a fantastic writing style that I’ve really loved reading.

Sarah Ockler – Gracious! This woman knows how to tug my heartstrings!

Ann Voskamp – Not a YA writer, but I’ve been reading her book One Thousand Gifts and then her Christmas devotional The Greatest Gift and I absolutely love her. I’m not a Christian book reader by any means but I’m so glad I’ve found her books!

Diana Peterfreund – I’m really ashamed that I haven’t read her books sooner. So lovely and interesting and unique! Looking forward to reading more by her!

Elizabeth Wein – While Code Name Verity completely moved me, Wein won me over to her side with the follow-up Rose Under Fire. People shouldn’t be allowed (oh yes they should) to write such heartbreakingly good books.

Kiersten White – I bought Paranormalcy longer ago than I’m willing to admit but it sat on my bookshelf forever. I finally picked it up and am so ashamed that I let it go so long without reading it! Kiersten White is FUNNY! I’ve read a few more by her since then and have enjoyed all of them!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – New to Me Authors 2013 Style”

  1. I agree, 2013 is Rainbow Rowell’s year, for sure. I haven’t read Rose Under Fire, but I seriously need too. Nor have I read anything by Diana Peterfreund even though everyone says her books are amazing.

    I hope you’re doing okay Candice!

    Like

  2. Thank you for the Warner shout out! Even if I end up being Team Adam (I still can’t decide), Warner is one of the sexiest characters I’ve read.

    I’ve heard Trish Doller is absolutely amazing. I really want to read either one of her books – I don’t care which since I’ve heard they’re both great!

    My TTT

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

