Young Adult

2013 End of the Year Survey

best-books-2013

It’s that time of year again! Survey time! Jamie over at The Perpetual Page Turner has created her annual survey for us to fill out and discuss some of our favorite books, posts, and bookish moments of the year! Check it out here!

Best Books in 2013

1. Best Book You Read In 2013?

Contemporary YA – Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Dollar – sooooo good! Read this!

Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic – The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau – I didn’t have very high hopes for this one, so imagine how excited I was that it was a GREAT comparison to The Hunger Games!

Historical Fiction – The Caged Graves by Dianne K. Salerni – I don’t read much historical fiction, so this was one of the best I read. Regardless of reading historical fiction though, it was one of the best I read.

Paranormal — The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa – It honestly wouldn’t be a list without Julie Kagawa popping up!

Science Fiction — Across a Star Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund – You may argue this isn’t science fiction and I would argue that you are wrong.

Fantasy — Tie between Dark Triumph and Crown of Midnight. I’ll leave you to talk amongst yourselves.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
Tie between Infinityglass by Myra McEntyre and Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi. I really thought I was going to LOVE these two considering how much I loved the series, but neither lived up to my expectations.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013?
The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau. Touted as the next Hunger Games, it really had some big shoes to fill. But here’s a quote from my review of it: “Look. I honestly don’t care that this book is basically The Hunger Games long lost twin sibling. It was pretty solid and was an exciting adventure.”

 4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?
Crown of Midnight – but only if they read Throne of Glass. Then I recommended Throne of Glass first. Either way. Read this series.

 5. Best series you discovered in 2013?
Not really a series, but For Darkness Shows the Stars and Across a Star-Swept Sea were two of the best “series” books I read this year! I loved the retellings of classic books in a science fictiony kind of atmosphere.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?
Hands down Rainbow Rowell. We’ve done two of her books for The Selective Collective and I have ADORED reading her works! (Okay, I know she’s not new… but she’s new to me!)

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?
Whistling Past the Graveyard. Not so much out of my comfort zone, just not a zone I like to read. This book was EXCELLENT though!

 8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?
Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Dollar. Not what you were thinking, huh? I couldn’t put it down though. It was so good!

 9. Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?
Probably Throne of Glass/Crown of Midnight whenever the next book comes out. Because… this series rocks.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013?
where stars still shine
Look at the pretties!

11. Most memorable character in 2013?
Sybella from Dark Triumph. I originally didn’t like her much in Grave Mercy, but whoa… did she EVER blow me away when she got her own book!

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2013?
The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater. Can she actually write anything ugly? I don’t think so!

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013?
Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein. I had read Code Name Verity earlier and loved it, but RUF really struck a chord with me. I think because it wasn’t a European who was in the situation, but an American. You don’t hear too many stories like that!

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read?
Paranormalcy by Kiersten White. I’ve actually owned this one for quite some time but never picked it up. It soooo wasn’t what I was thinking it would be! Very, very cute!

The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart. What was I thinking waiting so long to read this? SOOOOOO good!

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2013?

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?
Longest – The Diviners by Libba Bray

Shortest – errr… everything seems short compared to The Diviners

 17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!
Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi – Um, chapter 62 anyone?

Allegiant by Veronica Roth – Did anyone not need to discuss this immediately afterwards? We totally texted, chatted, Facebooked… you name it, it happened.

18. Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2013 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).
Oh… where to begin?! Levi and Cath (Fangirl), Celana and Chaol (Crown of Midnight), Tris and Four (Allegiant), Juliette and Warner (Unravel Me)

19. Favorite Book You Read in 2013 From An Author You’ve Read Previously
Dark Triumph by Robin LeFevers. Seriously, this book. Soooo good! If you haven’t started this series, I highly recommend you do!

Dirty Little Secret by Jennifer Echols. Look. This one had some flaws. But Jennifer Echols knows how to write a darn good swoony scene and this one is no exception. However what made this one a favorite of mine is the setting. Absolutely brilliant!

20. Best Book You Read In 2013 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:
Honestly cannot think of one. I’m sure there is one but not sure what it would be! I did start (and really need to finish) The 5th Wave based on Sandie’s (from Teen Lit Rocks) praise and excitement over it.

21. Genre You Read The Most From in 2013?
As much as I want to say fantasy, because it’s my go-to genre, I’m gonna have to say contemporary. There were so many good options this year!

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2013?
Levi from Fangirl. Did anyone not fall for this boy?

Noah from The Dream Thieves. Here’s what I wrote about him: Look. I don’t care that he’s basically (spoiler alert) a firm ghost. I don’t care that he was killed some odd years ago and only comes in and out of the world whenever a lay line is active. There’s one scene that made me smile and curl my toes over him. No, I won’t go into details because I think it might just be me, but it was super swoony

Chaol from Crown of Midnight. I was all Team Dorian until I got to this book and now I’m all who is Dorian why don’t we all love Chaol? Seriously, hotty mchottypants.

23. Best 2013 debut you read?
Another Little Piece by Kate Karyus Quinn. This one was absolutely amazing. Gruesome, but amazing.

24. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?
Perfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano. I don’t know if this is the MOST vivid world, but it was pretty awesome.

25. Book That Was The Most Fun To Read in 2013?
Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt. This one was so cute! I loved the premise and the total cuteness of it all!

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2013?
The Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler. OMG the tears! The feelings! Why????

27. Book You Read in 2013 That You Think Got Overlooked This Year Or When It Came Out?
The Caged Graves. This book was actually really REALLY good but I didn’t see many folks reviewing it or talking about it.

Another Little Piece. Another book that was great but no one seemed to talk about. What’s wrong with you people?! Okay.. probably nothing but I highly recommend this one to you!

Blog/Book Life 2013 

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2013?
Oh man… I honestly don’t know! I feel like I’ve made a lot more bookish friends this year, but can’t think of anyone’s blog that is my “favorite.” You’re all my favorites!

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2013? 

rose under fire    fangirl    crown of midnight

3. Best discussion you had on your blog?
When Tastes Change – discussing how tastes in reading change over the years and what to do when it happens

4. Most thought-provoking review or discussion you read on somebody else’s blog?
I can’t remember the blog, but it was actually something someone posted on Faceboook and I raised the question about it on Twitter. It was about “pink washing” books – changing words, situations, adding scenes to make the book less traumatic or adult for younger audiences.

5. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?
First off… I went to the Decatur Book Festival in Atlanta, GA and had SO MUCH FUN! I got to meet some of my favorite authors, including Leigh Bardugo who, by the way, gave me a hug and a button.

I also hosted a stop on the Gayle Foreman Readalong, hosted by Brittany at the Book Addict’s Guide, which was a lot of fun. Was exciting rereading If I Stay and discussing it with others!

6. Best moment of book blogging/your book life in 2013?
This actually just happened. Lisa Burstein (who I LOVE), author of Pretty Amy, and I were tweeting the other day and she mentioned that she ended up using my name as the MC in her newest book Sneaking Candy. Months ago she had tweeted asking for a name that has a sexy nickname and I totally suggested mine. Can you get any sexier than Candy? 😉

After reading the synopsis of this book, I TOTALLY WANT TO READ IT!

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?
Comments – Top Ten Tuesday: Things I Won’t Pick Up

Views – Review of The Book Thief (for the second year in a row…)

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?
Probably all of my reviews. I mean, I love the memes I participate in and silly posts I like to post when I’m bored, but I really do wish my reviews got more love. But… that’s okay! The number of comments don’t make it good or bad. And… I also can’t expect bookoodles of comments when I rarely comment on other people’s blogs! Lately I’ve tried to focus more on commenting on other bloggers’ book reviews. I know how much work I put into mine, so I know they put just as much (although most likely more) work into writing them as I do!

9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?
Hmm… Honestly, I’m not sure. I can’t think of anything that I’ve really “discovered” this year that I didn’t already know about.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?
Have I ever mentioned how much I suck at goals? I had this whole idea to read one classic book a month. I failed in January. However, I did manage to read (and finish) a classic book – Pride and Prejudice. Go me!

Here’s to more blogging fun in 2014!

4 thoughts on “2013 End of the Year Survey”

  1. Ah, I loved Another Little Piece too! I’ll talk about it! I think it’s overlooked as well. I love how often you listed Where The Stars Still Shine for so many answers–it was one of my favorites of the year as well. It completely took me by surprise and was just such a beautiful(though sad and hard to read at times) story. And I agree with Going Vintage just being so FUN. I need to re-read that one soon for a pick-me-up sort of read. . .

    Like

  2. YES! Where The Stars Still Shine! That book was freaking amazing. I read Something LIke Normal in January of this year so my year was full of Trish Doller goodness! She needs to release more ASAP.

    Also, The Testing…I never heard of it until everyone started raving about it this year! I was def wary about the Hunger Games comparison so I kind of just ignored it for a while but seeing it on your survey makes me interested in checking it out!

    Also, ANOTHER LITTLE PIECE?! OMG YES. Not talked about enough! It was CRAZY. So different. I read it around Halloween and I just don’t even have words for it. Very excited to read more from that author!!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

