To Do Lists

Top Ten Tuesday – Thanksgiving Edition

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

So I haven’t done one of these in ages. Heck, it feels like I haven’t done ANYTHING in ages. But, Daphne over at Gone Pecan – one of my blogging besties BTW – inspired me to do a Top Ten today. And recently, I’ve been feeling like I have a LOT to be thankful for.

Here are my Top Ten things I’m thankful for this year:

My family – While I’m ALWAYS thankful for them, recently I’ve felt so grateful that I am a part of MY family. I love that they have taught me to be selfless, not by lessons but by actions. No matter what, they are there for me and will stop everything at the drop of a hat to help me when I’m in need. I love that because of them I am the woman I am.

My Selective Collective girls – These ladies… I talk about how much I love them all the time, but I don’t think words actually do it any justice. It’s funny how whenever something comes up, they are usually the first people I turn to, whether it’s good or bad. What’s better is that I WANT to turn to them first. Despite having never met them and living in all corners of the country, they have truly become my best friends.

Small Groups – I’ve never been uber-religious, but God has always been in my life. Months ago I had a falling out with Him and basically decided that I was done with praying and relying on Him because I didn’t think there was any point. And then my neighbor invited me to join her small groups, which are her church’s alternative to Sunday School, and I honestly believe my life has changed because of them. I’m extremely thankful for them, for helping me find my way back to God, and for opening my eyes to all the wonderful gifts in my life. (P.S. you should read “One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp – seriously… this book has changed my way of thinking)

Healthcare Benefits – With all the hubbub over healthcare these days, it seems awfully weird to be thankful for any of them. And while I’m pretty steamed over increasing costs with decreasing benefits, I’ve recently discovered that the benefits I do have are pretty darn amazing. Maybe it’s a total old person thing to get excited over, but finding out you have an HSA that’s basically been paying for everything is worth jumping for joy over. Or that your short term disability pays 100% of your salary while out vs the 60% most do. While my benefits will change next year (and not for the better) I’m really super happy that they are so good right now when I’ve needed them most!

Books – Obviously, as a reader and blogger I’m thankful for books. I’m thankful for the words in them, for the people who imagined them and the fact that we have access to any and every book we could ever want to read. There have been life-changing moments because of them, friendships made and bonds strengthened because of books. It’s easy to take them for granted, but when books (physical, actual pages bound together) seem to be endangered, it makes me even more thankful for the opportunities I have had with them. And of course, thankful for the people who inspired me to read.

Harry Potter – Alright… this isn’t as lame as it sounds. I’m not really thankful for Harry, even though he did pretty much save the world. I’m thankful for the fact that this book series exists. Because of it, I have this amazing bond with my little sister. The Harry Potter movies became something we went to see together every year and allowed us to grow closer together. Because of Harry Potter, we’ve taken a vacation together (to Harry Potter world of course), we’ve branched out to other book/movie franchises (Twilight, Hunger Games, Percy Jackson) and have grown closer together bonding over these. It’s always funny to me how one little movie brought two completely different girls together.

Friends – There’s not really a reason that friends is so far down on this list. I just didn’t want to list the obvious first! While I’m not one of those people who has friends by the dozen, I have an amazing list of friends. We may not see each other all the time or hang out every weekend, but I know if I’m in a bind or need a friend or want to call them up to go see a movie, these people are the ones who will be there. And I also know that if they are ever in a situation where they need me, I am dropping everything and doing whatever they need. If it’s hopping on a plane to NYC to console a friend, done. It it’s driving across campus in the middle of a monsoon to bring a friend a sandwich, done. If it’s giving a friend my very last dollar so they can buy a… well I have no idea what costs $1 now, but if they need it, done. I love these kinds of friendships – where there is nothing to gain or lose, you just be a friend.

Peeta Mellark – Because.. you know… I mean, have you seen Catching Fire?!

My old boss – Recently we’ve had some changes at my job. My old boss went to another department and I have a new boss. Let’s just say it… well it’s still an adjustment. It makes me increasingly thankful that I had the time with my old boss, learning how to be a good manager/employee/person from him. Now, our relationship has turned more friendly/mentor, which has been really awesome. While he’s not really my boss anymore, it’s nice to still have someone who I know I can go to about anything.

The BGFF – It’s nice to know that no matter how much you screw up or how crazy-girl you get, someone will still like you. And while this relationship isn’t romantic at all, it’s just nice to have a Luke or Hubbell in my life.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Thanksgiving Edition”

  1. Very thoughtful list. šŸ™‚
    It is amazing how some of the best friends out there are ones we never see!! I’d be lost without the great friends I’ve met through blogging.
    I’m happy you have found a small group. It is so important to have a support system like that! I had been feeling rather stagnant spiritually and it was actually kind of random, but an author is the one that has inspired me to get back on track! Very thankful for that.
    LOL to Peeta!! I am totally Team Gale, but I did swoon over that pearl and locket scene!! How could anyone not?

    Like

    1. I’ll be honest – the small group thing has been a total life-changer, not just spiritually but in so many other ways!

      And Peeta…. omg that pearl scene! It wasn’t huge but was SO good! And the locket scene… be still my heart! šŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I think that’s the great thing, or one of the many great things anyway, about series like Harry Potter and Twilight. They can help create a bond between people and get you all caught up in the shared experience. And I’m definitely Team Peeta! šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Agree! I feel like it’s such a conversation starter in some ways and gives you common ground to start a friendship. There needs to be more book series like this!

      And yay Peeta!

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

