Dystopian, Young Adult

I pledge Allegiant

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

allegiant

The Skinny: What if your whole world was a lie?
What if a single revelation—like a single choice—changed everything?
What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?

– From Amazon

BFF?: Oh Tris… You seriously are one of my favorite characters. That’s all. 🙂

Readability: I absolutely love Roth’s writing, but I’ll admit I wasn’t the biggest fan of the alternating POVs. It just felt like I had a hard time connecting with either voices, despite having previously read both of them in other books.

Crush Level: 8
My goodness is there anyone better than Tobias Eaton? I honestly don’t know. While I already developed a HUGE crush on him earlier in the series, I’m pretty sure this one sealed the deal for me.

Commencement Speech: The irony of this being called “commencement speech” isn’t lost on me, considering this is the last installment in the Divergent series. You know how some books end a series and you want to hurl the book across the room (I’m looking at you Requiem)? This one… did no such thing. Which is surprising given all the events that take place in it! Not that they’re bad or hurl-worthy. I’m just saying that, like any good dystopian series, there is a sense of loss and finality in the end. And honestly, I love Veronica Roth so much more right now for giving me a harder book. Allegiant is filled with questions of what is right and what is wrong. What’s good and what’s bad. What’s a sacrifice and what’s murder. But those questions didn’t just challenge the characters; I felt completely challenged by this book, not sure who or what to trust.

If anyone is looking for a great dystopian series and you’ve been living under a rock, I highly HIGHLY recommend this series. Be prepared for heartache, tears, anger, love, and happiness… not necessarily in that order.

Yearbook Quote: “I fell in love with him. But I don’t stay with him by default as if there’s no one else available to me. I stay with him because I choose to, every day that I wake up, every day that we fight or lie to each other or disappoint each other. I choose him over and over again, and he chooses me.

Superlative – Most likely to tattoo itself over your heart

Like this post? You may like these too:

BitterKingdom-hc-c    book-requiem    UnravelMe4av2blue

2 thoughts on “I pledge Allegiant”

  1. I pledge Allegiant 🙂 I like your take on the final book. Allegiant tore my heart out but now that time has passed I can appreciate it more. I think the alternate POV worked better in audio format, but it did take some time to get used to. Fab spoiler free review!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

