Young Adult

Paranormal Baddies: Zombies

paranormal baddies

I’m not gonna lie: zombies are the scariest thing to me. It’s not really the same scary as demons or ghosts or whatever because they’re kind of in your face. They don’t really pop out to frighten you. And they aren’t even fast. Seriously, I’m pretty sure I could out run them and I don’t run.

thriller-460_1054147c

But the thing about them is that THEY WON’T STOP. If they are after you, they’re after you. They won’t tire. They won’t get distracted. They won’t think “Oh, you know what? Maybe I’m not that hungry.” You can cut off their arm and they’ll just shrug it off and stay after you.

Honestly, zombies scare the f–k out of me. And, for that very reason, are my hands down favorite paranormal “baddie” there is.

zombie

Something that I’ve grown to love about zombies is that very few (and by very few I mean maybe only one) authors romanticize them. They aren’t pretty. They don’t lure you in with their good looks, delicious smells and sparkly skin. They’re disgusting, limbs hanging on by ligaments, eyeballs popping out of sockets, skin deteriorating… basically, they’re a walking pile of flesh. So therefore, they get to remain baddies. Which… hooray!

zombie

There are some great YA books out there that feature zombies! I’ve linked my own reviews to the ones I’ve read. Feel free to let me know if you’ve read and reviewed any of these; I’ll add your link to it!

Dearly Departed – Liz Habel

The Forest of Hands and Teeth – Carrie Ryan

The Dead Tossed Waves – Carrie Ryan

Something Strange and Deadly – Susan Dennard

A Darkness Strange and Lovely – Susan Dennard

This is Not a Test – Courtney Summers

7 thoughts on “Paranormal Baddies: Zombies”

  1. Eek, zombies scare me too. I even had to stop watching The Walking Dead because it grossed me out so much.

    I did like Something Strange and Deadly and Warm Bodies though. Still haven’t read This is Not a Test…that cover!

    Good point that zombies are usually not romanticized like vampires. I think the slow zombies are even scarier than the fast ones.

    Thanks for sharing the zombie love!

    Like

  2. Haha. Yes, Zombies are totally freaky. Like you said, they just keep coming after you. I’ve read Somethinge Strange and Deadly and Alice in Zombieland. Those are the only zombie books I’ve read, but I really liked them both.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

