Spooky! Scary!, Young Adult

Paranormal Baddies: Werewolves

paranormal baddies

I’ve been waiting to do this post for a while for the sole reason that I’ve been wanting to use this video:

 

“It’s a werewolf Bar Mitzvah! Spooky! Scary! Boys becoming men. Men becoming wolves!”

I don’t know if you’ve ever noticed my category tag for “scary” books/posts… but Spooky! Scary! is straight from this 30 Rock classic.

Now… on to werewolves. Seriously… I don’t like them. I find them lame, boring, smelly, icky… like seriously, how can anyone fall in love with one of these? This is why I tend to be more Team Edward than Team Jacob. Oh, and I avoid most werewolf books like the plague. Even sexypants Alcide from the Sookie Stackhouse books can’t win me over to werewolves. werewolf_helsing

 

That being said though… they do kind of make for a totally bad ass baddie! Why? you may find yourself asking? Because………..

THEY LOOK LIKE EVERYONE ELSE!!!!! Unless there is a full moon, you don’t know who… or what… you’re inviting into your house. They don’t have rules, such as they have to be invited in, to come into your lives. Sneaky little buggers.

teenwolf-air-guitar092710

One thing that I have noticed is that books tend to shy away (or at least the ones I’ve read) from the traditions of werewolves. Like they have to be killed by a silver bullet. Most books say they only have to be shot. Which… makes hunting them easier, but not really doing anything for their baddie street cred.

felicia-day-red-werewolf-hunter-320

There are some great YA books out there that feature werewolves! I’ve linked my own reviews to the ones I’ve read. Feel free to let me know if you’ve read and reviewed any of these; I’ll add your link to it!

New Moon – Stephanie Meyer

Sisters Red – Jackson Pearce

Shiver – Maggie Steivater

Carnival of Souls – Melissa Marr

 

2 thoughts on “Paranormal Baddies: Werewolves”

  1. Not too long ago I read Hemlock which is also about werewolves. I thought it was okay. I’m not really a fan of werewolves books, but I don’t dislike them either. I tend to like books about ghosts, and that kind of thing more.

    Like

    1. Hemlock!!!! That was the book I was thinking of when making my list of werewolf books.

      And yeah… I’m not a fan of them; I do tend to like ghosts and witches more than anything!

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

