Young Adult

Paranormal Baddies: Fairy Tales

paranormal baddies

Disney has pretty much ruined fairy tales for Halloween. There. I said it.

mk_evilqueen

I don’t think we often think of fairy tales as being “Halloween” tales. Sure, some of them have monsters or wolves or witches, but we’ve kind of forgotten the original scary stories that they used to be and now think of them as cutesy little princess stories with a happy ending.

Cinderella-Blue-Dress

But when you think about it… fairy tales are scary shizz man. Making an evil queen wear red hot metal shoes, cooking kids in a giant oven, cutting off heels and toes to fit into a pair of shoes, eating a little girl and her grandmother… seriously, fairy tales have some of the most twisted baddies ever.

still-of-cloris-leachman-in-hansel-and-gretel

Over the course of my blog I’ve been doing a semi-regular series called Featured Fairy Tales where I explore the original tales and talk about them. Discovering some of the original stories gave me the shivers! They were oh so gruesome! I think YA has done a fantastic job though with retelling fairy tales and really brought back some of the fear and terror these tales used to invoke.

Evil-Stepsisters-cinderella-1974433-300-221

There are some great YA books out there that feature fairy tale baddies! I’ve linked my own reviews to the ones I’ve read. Feel free to let me know if you’ve read and reviewed any of these; I’ll add your link to it!

Fairy Tale Retellings – Jackson Pearce

  • Sisters Red
  • Sweetly
    -Kayla @ Caught Between the Pages Review
  • Fathomless
    -Kayla @ Caught Between the Pages Review
  • Cold Spell

Kill Me Softly – Sarah Cross

Lumetere Series – Marissa Meyer

Princess Series – Jessica Day George

5 thoughts on “Paranormal Baddies: Fairy Tales”

  1. “we’ve kind of forgotten the original scary stories that they used to be and now think of them as cutesy little princess stories with a happy ending” – Yes. The original Grimms’ Fairy Tales are so scary but Disney made them way too cutesy to make them kid-friendly. Which is not necessarily a bad thing, I just would like to see some animated films that are more faithful to the original stories as well. Some YA retellings do a great job in that regard.
    I’ve only read Cinder from your list, which wasn’t scary or anything but I did enjoy it quite a lot 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Why | terry1954

Comments make me happy, as do you!

