Fantasy, Young Adult

Infinityglass

Infinityglass by Myra McEntyre

infinityglass

The Skinny: The Hourglass is a secret organization focused on the study of manipulating time, and its members — many of them teenagers -­have uncanny abilities to make time work for them in mysterious ways. Inherent in these powers is a responsibility to take great care, because altering one small moment can have devastating consequences for the past, present, and future. But some time trav­elers are not exactly honorable, and sometimes unsavory deals must be struck to maintain order.

With the Infinityglass (central to understanding and harnessing the time gene) at large, the hunt is on to find it before someone else does.

But the Hourglass has an advantage. Lily, who has the ability to locate anything lost, has determined that the Infinityglass isn’t an object. It’s a person. And the Hourglass must find him or her first. But where do you start searching for the very key to time when every second could be the last? – From Goodreads

BFF?: There were two narrators in this one, Dune and Hallie (who I think is new). And truthfully… I don’t wanna be BFFs with either. Don’t get me wrong, they were both adequate narrators, but after reading Kaleb’s voice and Emmerson’s voice in the past two books, I was done. Dune, who we met in the previous books, did shine for me and I’m glad that he got his own story. He was quiet and smart but still hunky… there needs to be more boys like this! Hallie though… I just couldn’t connect with. I liked her, liked her brashness sometimes, but other times she just felt a little TOO MUCH for me.

Readability: I’ll preface this by saying I did enjoy reading this one, but it was really hard bouncing between the two characters. I didn’t think their voices were SUPER unique, so sometimes I had to check to see who was narrating.

Crush Level: 5
After Kaleb (see review for wowzer crush) there’s no way I could’ve fallen for any other guy in this series. Dune was sweet and caring. I loved how he genuinely loved Hallie. But whatever… snoresville.

Bonus Points
Ghostly Possession
Ghosts-1
If you’ve read this series, you know one of the things in it is the rips – ghosts that members of the Hourglass can see. Let’s just say that in this book, the rips start doing some cray cray things. It was super exciting when they did though!

New Orleans
new orleans
The other day I was marathon watching last season of The Vampire Diaries and saw the promo for the spin-off The Originals, which is set in New Orleans. I realized that there is something about New Orleans that I just don’t like in TV/movies/books. I can’t put my finger on it, but there you go. However, sometimes… it works for me. This book set in New Orleans WORKED. It was like we got to see the pretty side instead of the voodoo darker scary side.

Anti-Bonus Point
Old Characters Reunion

In book series where each book is about a different couple I cannot STAND when in the last book all the couples get together and do something. Like seriously, this drives me insane. And here’s why: IT’S SO CHEESY! I never feel like the characters are who they were in their respective book. They’re always this lovey dovey makes me want to vomit couple who has lost all sense of what made me fall in love with them in their respective book. So while it was nice to be reunited with all my favorite Hourglass characters, I just thought some scenes added a total cheese factor that didn’t work for me.

Yearbook Quote: None! ARC!

Superlatives – Most likely to HOORAY KALEB IS BACK!

Like this post? You may like these too:

timepiece

4 thoughts on “Infinityglass”

  1. Haha, I agree about the narration point. I also had trouble connecting with Hallie and while I liked Dune, he doesn’t have that edgy, sharp personality that Emerson and Kaleb both have. I missed them. 😦 And you’re VERY right about the cheesy reunion scene. It accomplished very little and was really only a bit of fan service since it was the last book in the series.

    Like

  2. I still haven’t read the second book. I really enjoyed Hourglass, and I’ve heard how awesome Kaleb is as a narrator, but I just haven’t made the time. I really should. Sorry the narrators were a little bit of a let down.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

